Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / collision, jumping, gravity, ect.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Apr 2007 20:44
i need help with my side scroller game. i cant figure out my collision, gravity, and jumping. help im realy confused.

here is the code

remember im a beginner and just started this month so i probably make some stupid error.

plz help

what?
n008
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Apr 2007 23:41
i don't see anything wit da code, but i can't look at teh game 'cause i don't have teh media

Ling creckt tsi nocreckto havela? NASA chetallnar mo lu'ul nasding!
A Tea Spoon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Apr 2007 19:00
here's the game with no media, i got rid of the start screen

that help?

what?
A Tea Spoon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Apr 2007 19:06
here's the game with no media, i got rid of the start screen

that help?

what?
A Tea Spoon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Apr 2007 20:06
Ok...... so i see what i did wrong with the collision, mixed up the
variables. here is the new code

but i still need help with jumping and gravity.
plz help

(by the way, sorry for double posting

what?
Lucy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Apr 2007 16:15
Well, gravity can be done by defining an amount that stuff should fall every frame, then go and set them to fall... like put in the loop to move them down by so much. Once you have collision in, they'll automatically stop on the ground and other things set to collide with so they won't fall through.