Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help with my tile slider

Author
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2007 08:39 Edited at: 31st May 2007 08:40
I am very new to DarkBasic Pro and I decided to make a tile slider game (like one I had made a while ago with gamemaker). Anyway so far I have got the game to display the pictures you can choose to play and then to break up the picture into individual tiles.

I am now stuck at trying to move the tiles around the screen. I want to click on a tile and if it is next to the 'blank' tile have them swap places. I have tried numerous methods for this but keep failing miserably.

I have attached the project and media in case someone is willing to help me out. I have removed most of the pictures and replaced them with placeholder images so that the download isn't massive. So it just contains one 'playable' picture, as it were. I'm thinking that instead of sprites I should have the tiles as types, but I'm not sure if that's the right thing to do.

Also this is the first thing I have tried to code by myself so the way I have done things probably isn't the best.

Thanks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jun 2007 04:58
If you use a numeric array dimensioned to the number of tiles across and down in the puzzle, you can fill the array with the numbers corresponding to the particular picture pieces at all the positions on the tile grid.

The blank space could be represented by a zero.

When the user clicks on a tile, you simply check the numbers in the array above, below, left and right of the tile clicked on. If any are zero then that's the one to swap with.