Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help with just about the most basic thing you can imagine.. Trying to make a simple (first) game and I have ideas..

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2007 22:32
Hi there,

Well I'll start by pointing out I am totally new to all this, if you check my post history (if that's possible?) you might notice I posted one a while back asking about the Darkbasic Language as a whole and what it's good for.

However, it has taken all this time to actually get going with it, but I assure you I truly am doing it now, me and my mate Will; and having a mate doing it obviously helps.

----------------

Why I am making this post:

We have got to the stage of understanding the basic concept of things like Print and Text, Strings and variables and a few other random things from looking around.

We have put this basic knowledge into hopefully making a game where by you move a player around the screen and it collects rings (like sonic type thing)

We have the player moving and we worked out how to texture it and a background, the next thing is having an object it collects and add the number of objects collected to a variable- correct?
Only problem I can see with doing that is how to get it to understand that when the player collides with an object then the object dissapears and add + 1 to the variable, any ideas?

Note: we haven't included the textures for the background and the player but the commands for texturing are still there to show we understand it.

Obviously we'd like to make the game more elaborate than that and any simple ideas and methods of doing so would be greatly appreciated!