Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Colouring parts of a 3D object

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th May 2003 12:33
How do I colour seperate sections of a 3D object? I have a car model and I want to have the wheels black, the body red and the windows transparent. I think I need 3D modelling program. Any suggestions on a nice simple one? (complete newbie to 3D)
from future review of next game....
'..while the programmer of this game may not be God-like he certainly represents the next step in human evolution. (10/10).'
indi
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th May 2003 14:26
In the older days of DBC you would have been directed to doga which is a series of 3 3d programs in version build of 1 - 3

It was simple object placement with odd primitives that were nasty in poly control and texturing.

haha ugg!

luckily today we have brilliant minds like IpakAgun but more so Simple and Psionic because of there demystifying approach to tutorials plus all the other gurus in 3d creation world who support the blindfolded like ourselves in both forums

hehe now to answer your question.

The process is called skinning or making a UV wrap image.

The best way to describe this in a laymans term is to think back when u used to flatten a cardboard box into one flat peice of card or perhaps u explored this in artclass..

The program favoured by all for the budget is lithium unwrapper.

It allows u to not only flatten any shape similar to that cube but gives you a good choice of options for particular problems.

imagine a cylinder and sphere, Also imagine the way chocolate is made or some plastic wrappers where two halfs are joined together.