Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Making a big game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have made several small games and i think i am ready to have a crack at a proper game. Is there any advice anyone can give me about this please?
BlackRat
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2002 22:49
A big game huh?... well.. i'm no expert but I think ill state the basics.

1)Plan it ALL out on paper first. Everything from the looks, to the sound, to the controls.. EVERYTHING!

2)Keep your code TIDY. If you let it slip, before you know it you will end up with 500 pages of code, which could never be understnad

3)ALWAYS takes regular breaks, otherwise you will end up getting tired, and doing things which are make-shift, therefor your game wont be as good as it could have been.

(sorry for any mistakes)

The flying babel fish
Years of Service
User Offline
Should i make the graphics and music first or later?

The Darthster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Oct 2002 00:57
That depends on how good your plan is. I never plan anything, so my code is evolutionary. I write some code then think 'I need an image for that' then make it. Technically with good enough design you should be able to make all the media first, but it depends on your preference. You should at least have a basic gameplay engine up, even if it contains only cubes and un-textured matrices.
Mirthin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Oct 2002 17:42
Write your code and use 'placeholder' media, like primitives and such. Once you've got a working engine you can start with the media. Sometimes I look for media when I'm not coding to break the monotony.

This has "Fiasco" written all over it.
MiRRoRMaN
Years of Service
User Offline