Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / New Aircraft Models

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I am very new to Fpsc. I have only had the trial version for 5 days now but I will be buying the full version shortly. My company has been developing for games for many years now. I hope to be able to create a nice game of my own now.

I use gmax and 3ds max 8

I added some of our aircraft into fpsc very easily. I do have some quick questions though. The dxt3 .dds images do not seem to be displaying the alpha channel on the glass. The glass seems invisible. I set the material when I exported to have an opacity channel.

Secondly. I have gmax set up to meters with the aircraft scaled correclty, but when I export the aircraft is very tiny and does not even take up a segment square. I have to export with scale set to 3000 to get a decent size. What units should be used in 3ds max and gmax to get the correct scale?

My last question is, is 512x512 the maximum texture size that can be used? Most of my planes have a few 1024x1024 but it seems I had to reduce them to 512 to get them to show properly.

Here or some images

Skyunlimited Productions
http://www.skyunlimited.net
Smitho
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jun 2007 12:06
Check the alpha channel on the glass is not True black. Make it a really dark greay rather than Black.
Poly count is taking the cake, as you can all see from the frame rate.

Trinity Pictures
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jun 2007 19:28
Quote: "Poly count is taking the cake, as you can all see from the frame rate."

Yep, that's never a good sign...

Artist/Modellor of Encrypto Studios
Smitho
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jun 2007 20:48