Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need help with a little space sim?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I am new to DarkBasic Pro and so I start by making a small game. You shall be able to fly with a space ship and shoot at a given amount of enemies to advance to the next level.

Now my question is, how can I make a movable background, so that the map on wich the ship flies is for example 4 times as big as the screen? And how can I make the ship stop from changing the flight direction when I rotate it? If you want to help me, please look at my source code. If you want to compile it, you need a ship.bmp. I used a car from GTA. Thnx
Wolverine
Years of Service
User Offline
Now I have added a velocity to the ship and I made it so, that when the ship reaches the screen end, it jumps to the opossite site. But I can't figure out how to make the ship draft when I am turning, without directly flying into this direction. Under the source tab is my new code.
Flashing Blade
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th May 2003 19:37
you need to manipulate the x&y velocities
i've diddled with your code - hope this is what u want:
Flashing Blade
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th May 2003 20:31 Edited at: 29th May 2003 20:34
use this code instead (i made shipx & shipy real numbers - makes it a bit smooooother):

**Edit**
oops change line 7 to LOAD IMAGE "ship.bmp",1
Wolverine
Years of Service
User Offline
Thnx, that is exactly what I wanted. But now the ship only flies in 8 directions, it looks a bit funny, when you rotate the ship in a circle while you are thrusting. Do you now how to change this, too?

Thnx for your help
Flashing Blade
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th May 2003 14:05