Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / loop object works (without any start or end frame specification)

Author
Message
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2007 03:47 Edited at: 4th Jul 2007 03:56
exactly that, when I actually specify the start and end frames (I'm trying to get a running loop) it doesn't move!

also, when i use the code:



I get every enemy moving towards me! even the ones hidden behind walls (I'm using BSP).

any ideas

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 02:06
Anyone at all?

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.
vorconan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 02:30
1. It sounds like you've specified the start and/or end frame wrongly.

2. I'm not that familiar with BSP, is it basically a form of object culling?

Prancer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2005
Location: Idaho, US
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 02:37
Every enemy is moving towards you because, I believe, the OBJECT VISIBLE() command is only false when you hide the object with HIDE OBJECT() command. It doesn't matter if it can't be seen by the camera. I hope this helps.

Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 16:35
@prancer
that's probably true ty. i never thought of it that way.
@vorconan. I've double checked the start and end frames and they're correct.

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 17:07 Edited at: 6th Jul 2007 17:09
@Allanon Shadeslayer -
Your code and theories have some problems.

Your movement doesn't work correctly because you're moving your enemy all the time. You have to account for collision in its movement. If you don't, it will keep moving.

Quote: "if object visible(ene)"

That tells you if the enemy object is visible, move it toward the camera no matter what. If you're looking at it, it will move toward the camera. It will be visible any time it's in the camera's viewport. If it is not, then it will not be visible. Objects are only visible if they're being rendered by DBP.


As for your object animation, it's impossible to definitevely tell you without code. However, it's probably because you're telling the object to loop every program loop, which restarts it every time.


Come see the WIP!
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 17:56
I don't think that that is the animation problem because it's only when i specify the start and end frames that it messes up.

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 18:14 Edited at: 6th Jul 2007 18:15
showing my entire code might help. (I'm using DarkMATTER 2)



and here is the animations list:



000 : Stance
000 - 080 : Idle Posture
080 - 150 : Fidget Animation
150 - 200 : Attack (170 Impact)
200 - 250 : Hurt (220 Impact)
250 - 300 : Block/Dodge (270 Impact)
300 - 350 : Stagger
350 - 400 : Collapse/Die (370 Impact)
450 - 500 : Get Up
450 - 550 : Walk
: 450-470 - Position To Loop
: 470-530 - Looping Walk
: 530-550 - Return To Stance
550 - 650 : Run
: 550-570 - Position To Loop
: 570-630 - Looping Run
: 630-650 - Return To Stance

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.
RUCCUS
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 20:20 Edited at: 6th Jul 2007 20:23
Quote: "Objects are only visible if they're being rendered by DBP."


Not true, objects are visible as long as they're not hidden or excluded. Run this code if you'd like proof;



It would end if your statement was correct cash.

As for the animation problem, IIRC I always used a condition combined with play object, like so;

IF OBJECT PLAYING(obj) = 0 THEN PLAY OBJECT obj,start,end

As Cash said, loop object basically will constantly play your object from the start frame to the end frame. So if you call it every loop, it will constantly reset your object to it's start frame. So either only call loop object once, with the help of the OBJECT LOOPING() command, or use the condition I showed above.


Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 6th Jul 2007 21:08
Wow, I must be getting old

@Allanon Shadeslayer -
The DM2 models are flawed, they were exported with a time scale of 160. That means that every frame is multiplied by 160. So, Return to Stance is not frame 630, its 100,800. It sucks, but is true. I contacted TGC but they wouldn't help me with these crappy models, so in the end I reanimated them all myself.

Temporarily you can animated them at a speed that is 160x your original animation speed.


Come see the WIP!
Johaness
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Jul 2007 03:15
The command to see if dbp is rendering the object is "Object In Screen".... I think.
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Aug 2007 23:21
Thank you all very much for your help I've been away for awhile so I didn't get the chance to reply to this. but I'm doing it now. Thank you it helped a lot.

If at first you don't succeed, lower your expectations.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-27 02:23:35
Your offset time is: 2024-09-27 02:23:35