Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newbie to DarkBasic game design

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello everyone ,

I am new to the DarkBasic world. I am interested in learning a language that takes advantage of serious game design. I checked out BlitzBasic, but abandoned it since it seems to be a smaller community. DarkBasic seems idea, but I\'m not sure how to begin. I have an interest in designing objects, meshes, maps and creating serious animation. The list goes on.

My experience began with Atari Basic and assembly language in the 80s. Then I bought a Commodore 64c and tried their Basic and tackled a small game in machine language(6502).

I\'ve also done some game design using both Qbasic and Visual Basic 6 (Direct X routines). I have C++ and Java knowledge as well. I am efficient in creating classes, etc.

I have had a passion for programming (especially games) since I first tried my hand at simple programming. I feel it is time to unleash the power of what I have learned and try my leap into DarkBasic. Would you guys recommend this over any other language, on the concept of pure game design?

Also is DarkBasic efficient enough to handle machine language capability. Can assembly objects be encoded using this Editor? What I\'m implying is, does it take full advantage of the hardware in terms of speed? That is why I preferrred assembly language in the early years because it broke speed barriers.

What are some good beginning map/character editors that are available to the DarkBasic audience?