Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Gamepads and Josysticks

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jul 2007 02:56
Okay I am new to this product and have done a quick search and see if either DB or DBPro supports gamepads specifically with multiple analogue sticks and a dpad( 6 axis controls i think.
I have not bougt either product but will if it does support these.

Which shuold i get
Would they support the gamepads from out of teh box or do i need extra plug in/code
and finally could some one show me an example of moving on screen objects with the second analogue stick
Sanjuro
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jul 2007 03:23
i found this old post through a search that pretty much sums up my concerns after looking at the functions avaialbe:

Im using a usb gamepad that resembles a ps2 controller. I just want the program to accept input from all the functions on the gamepad. My problem is with the analog sticks. 1. it will only read the d-pad or the left analog stick not both.. 2. its only reading values for when you move the right analog stick up and down and not left to right. it might be something simple I dont know, I am new to darkbasic. and I am us DarkBASIC and not DarkBASIC Pro.
Any help I can get with this would be much appreciated.

This is from 2004 - has tehre been any advances in the last 3 years?
Daemon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jul 2007 04:12 Edited at: 12th Jul 2007 04:16
DBPro is just the newer version of DB. It's not more difficult, but it has a lot more. Although I have never used DB, I've never heard anyone recommend it over DBPro.