Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Final Fantasy X - Open Source Battle Engine

Author
Message
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 01:54 Edited at: 11th Nov 2007 01:02
*Double Post* *SORRY*

So summons are now working ^^
Got that bug sorted..

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1337368

Im now going to sleep.. But this week im gonna work on this like crazy monkey anyways..

When system is that state it needs effects i start effect editor

[center]

Click for details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Deathead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 09:50
Bob the punisher.XDlol
Looks great

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 20:09
Good news

Scripting system works perfectly.. I will post screen later or tomorrow

This is my example script



The first trigger means that it will always use attack animation 4 at states 1-2 when you attack with normal attack (attack id 0)

The trigger starts if mob name is Bob The Punisher

The second trigger means that it will output text dialog when Mob with id 3 is created. Then it will output another dialog. Then it will escape so many enemies what are pointed with variable. In this case its (Enemy count - 1) so one enemy will stay on arena.. Of course you can use [Escape]Enemy.1,Party.2,Party.4 etc.. if you want but there is commands what uses variables. Then it will again output dialog but it will search the mob name who left on enemy side.

[FindMob.x]
If x = 1 then search for party mob
If x = 2 then search for enemy mob

Then it will increase the fiends soulbreak gauge by 100%

Its pretty intresting system not like other scripting systems.. But you will get hang of it when i have so many commands that i can make documentation

All scripts can be included in battle script file.

To make things more orgazined i will give battles a "name"
example of battle script file



Of course you can type the battle names yourself.

I dont know if theres more.. Oh yes!

I added multiple attacks.. Like if you have super attack where you slice your sword more like once you can add this to animation file.



As you can see there is DealDamage triggers. The number after dot means the frame of animation when trigger starts.. The =1 means true flag.. It needs to be there because of my system.

Hope you like this tech stuff!

Cheers,

Roxas

[center]
Deathead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 20:13
Seems very simple! Nice work!

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 20:23 Edited at: 29th Oct 2007 20:24
Thanks!

You may wonder why i dint use lua..

Answer is simple.
If i release this comerical i cant use lua (Or i cant afford for those what allows comerical license)

Another one is that i want to have the scripting system really nice simple and clean. And i also want to keep it flexible with my battle system (And my rpg engine what i havent started yet )

Also i forget most important thing on scripting system.

Lets say if you have this script what i showed already



If the system cant find the mob called Bob The Punisher the script wont continue and it terminates the script and continues like normal.. Lets say if there would be more script after [alwaysanim]..

If [alwaysanim] would not succeed it would terminate the script again and so on..

This is great way to simulate the IF statements
lets say like this!



Can you guess what that means in english ?

[center]
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Oct 2007 19:27 Edited at: 30th Oct 2007 19:41
Okey New update!

This shows the scripts in action
Some scripts have changed a bit but dont worry i will always release updated documentation of scripts when i release engine

Images:




So far no bugs
Now i can add new script commands easily.

How i made this scripting system may not be the best way but i dont need so complicated one. And this works actually better than many of scripting systems ive seen.. And you can add commands like in other ones

Example how the engine works.

ReadScript()
It will read the strings of a file into array..

ParseScript()
Will go trough all arrays and parse the commands from them..

SearchForCommand()
Will search subcommand from parsed command

RunCheck()
Will search a command from parsed command subcommand

DeleteCommand()
Will delete command buffer

DeleteScript()
Will delete script buffer

But you need to only use ReadScript() and ParseScript(). If you want to change points of reading script file.
SearchForCommand() you need to use if your command uses parms/subcommands.
Use DeleteCommand() if you use SearchForCommand()

RunCheck() and DeleteScript() Works automatically.

Example of command!



That is part of script engine and you can see how easy is to add new command..

If you want to add new commands for subcommands(parms) it will become little harder but you will learn it

Two examples how those actually works.. Non commented tough


So i will replace my cutscene editor complicated scripting system with this cuz this scripting system is 100% made by me and i understand it and it feels more better for me.. And isnt bunch of codes.. Actually its 202 lines thats why im kinda proud of it

And variables are really easy to add but i will do that tomorrow. Just remember when you want to use variable you need to use it like this
Var(MyVariable) or if the script command is returning a variable then you can use like this [enemycount-3] or [enemycount-Var(MyVariable)]

Easy

I will add tomorrow the variables and then start doing something else on engine

Hope you understood and like the sound of this

[center]
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 31st Oct 2007 16:40 Edited at: 31st Oct 2007 16:42
*Sig Test*
E:
*Sig Test2*

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 31st Oct 2007 20:08 Edited at: 31st Oct 2007 20:08
Ok variables are working.. Sorry for slow update but i was playing FFXI..

I will not go to technical details cuz i see no ones intrested

Ill post pic when i have time..

[center]

Click for details!
Deathead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 31st Oct 2007 20:19
My sig! Nooooooo! Nice sig. BTW.

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 31st Oct 2007 20:51
Sorry

Had to remove it to make room for that sig
And thanks!

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 31st Oct 2007 21:04 Edited at: 11th Nov 2007 01:03
Okey Screens of variable script test

Script Used:


Screens how it performs in engine

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1339173
Ps. Fixed the bug with dialogs.

[center]

Click for details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Nov 2007 01:02
Next im going to make Functions!
Example how to create Function!
But you cant add parms to function so they arent that useful than dbpro functions.

But they can tidy your scripts



Then in script file use this



This is the conspect how the functions will work soon

Currently scripting engine code amount is only 336 lines!!
Still im quite proud of it

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Nov 2007 02:45
And theory comes true

Scripting engine code amount is now 399!

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Nov 2007 04:28
Hehee..

Fixed all bugs in command selection!
Added some undo thingys!
Fixed some more bugs!
No more bugs detected!
Tested functions in scripting engine - WORKS !

Everything works smooth right now!

I will get optimizations done when i am at that stage

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Nov 2007 22:12 Edited at: 3rd Nov 2007 22:13
Update!

My scripting system is realyl coming along!
I've added if statements, Loops and better math calculation

Here is screen of my pong game what i made using my scripting engine!



Its not perfect but it really shows how effective is my scripting engine

Scripting Engine Code Amount : 559

Oh and you can download the pong example clicking the download button below..

The scripts arent encrypted so you can modify them just as you want
And post screens here if you want!

Imagine you must play pong to beat boss in battle lol..

Comments would be nice

[center]

Click for details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Deathead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Nov 2007 23:27
Nice.

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 6th Nov 2007 13:57
I guess anybody isnt intrested anymore in this project..

Anyways..

I made boss battle and tested my pong script in it
If you summon you need to first beat boss in pong battle or otherwise boss will kill your summonned summon!

Lol.. Just playing around with this scripting system

[center]

Click for details!
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 08:39
Hmm, just found it. It looks very nice. You should make a boss battle and put it up here, but compile it because I don't have DbPro. I'll use my OMFGamazing GM powers and kill it 1337 style.


But seriously, but some battles up here. I wanna play one or ten.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 14:24
Actually you can make your own battles if you want
I can set up so you can modify every enemy and player stats by file..
Also you can set battle orders etc. in script file if you want it?

[center]

Click for details!
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 19:57
That would be cool! I'm not sure if I will be able to though because I'm not very good at programming of any sort haha, but Ill give it a shot!

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 8th Nov 2007 17:09
Ok!
I will gladly make it possible!

Just give me time.. Altough i think i can done it today!

[center]

Click for details!
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 8th Nov 2007 17:25
Ok cool! I dunno why no one is posting on this, I mean it looks fun. Also it would greatly help with anyone trying to make an RPG.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 8th Nov 2007 19:12 Edited at: 8th Nov 2007 19:13
Ok.. Job done!

[Download]


[Notes]
I was too lazy to comment all files so if you have any proplems feel free to ask me in this thread

The modable files are : Commands.txt, Mob.txt, Allowed.txt

Also if you want the pong script remove then open up script.txt and remove the contests then save it then open the functions.txt and remove contest from there as well..

Note when adding summons in command list.. The power parm means the mob id Not magic power!

Any bugs or other weird things or if you have something to ask say them in this thread
Also comments would be really nice thing! They keep mee motivated.

[center]

Click for details!
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 9th Nov 2007 02:09 Edited at: 9th Nov 2007 02:11
Ok, just played my first battle and i have come up with some suggestions.

Ok so firstly I think you should make a for of battle start animation at the beginning so signify a battle starting. I do however love the camera pulling out at the beginning.

Second, I think you should include some more models of enemies and people you play. I like the way you show HP and MP, however I think you should split it up a little better, like block it off from the field.

Also, you should think about making a cool little battle editor where you can choose the skills, HP, MP, and name of each baddie at the beginning of a battle, or even make an editor that exports a text file to make it faster to make battles.

Lastly, I think your dark magic spell flare is overpowered, like massively lol. I kept getting this:



It was a one hit kill and the battles only lasted about two minuets tops. The enemy strangely only did like 77 damage using the same spell so it might be a little bug or something.


Overall I really liked it, I think those little tweaks would just help it little.

Hope my comments helped!

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 9th Nov 2007 14:03
Hmm.. This is pretty early stages so i cant make everything yet..

But i think i can pull out something!
Thanks for suggestions i will do them

As for flare spell you can change eveerything in commands.txt
Also there was little bug in one file so change the allowed.txt with this:



Now you and enemy has all attacks And enemy doesnt have the white magic bug thingy

Also in mob.txt you can change stats etc for fiends and chars!

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 10th Nov 2007 20:27 Edited at: 11th Nov 2007 01:02
I have been working in Map Engine
Maps arent in real time but they are pre rendered like in FFVII or FFVIII

Tell me what you think!

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1346511

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 00:30
First video of project!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=lp1KKRfyiWA

My Crappy computer is so crap that the video came slow and i needed to speed it up so it can be little weird

So any Comments?

[center]

Click for details!
Butter fingers
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2006
Location: Mecca
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 00:51
I don't know why you posted in my thread, when you have a link here. The video works fine on my connection. It looks cool, but in the early part of the video, I don't know what I'm looking at?

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 00:52
Ok thanks..

Why i posted on your thread is simple.. Cuz there is ppl who rearely look into my thread..

I will now edit my message in your thread

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 01:01 Edited at: 11th Nov 2007 01:04
Ok fixed the problem with the video!

**********************************************

Everyone use this link to watch the video if you have problems!



Video shows the basic map engine handling with walkmesh and everything
Also it shows small part of battle..

**********************************************

Edit:
Changed some images to links to help those with lower connections!

[center]

Click for details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 07:55
Lookin good man, keep it up!

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 12:37
Thanks

I dint know that it gone next page so im gonna post my video in here aswell!

Quote: "Ok fixed the problem with the video!

**********************************************

Everyone use this link to watch the video if you have problems!



Video shows the basic map engine handling with walkmesh and everything
Also it shows small part of battle..

**********************************************

Edit:
Changed some images to links to help those with lower connections!"


[center]

Click for details!
Deathead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 12:59
Quote: "dint know that it gone next page "

It hasn't on my comp.

[href]http://www.freewebs.com/deatheadstudios/

[/href]
Guyra
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 13:25
Hey, this looks really good.
Keep up the good work, man!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 14:35
Hehe.. Thanks guys

I should make new thread or ask mod to rename the thread to Flare Engine cuz this isnt anymore just a battle system!

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Nov 2007 15:20 Edited at: 11th Nov 2007 16:19
Demonstration of my effect theory..
Lets hope i can get this quality effects in dbpro

http://youtube.com/watch?v=NoJRkjAvN1Q

Edit:

I dint succeed on my theory
I wonder how square enix did their effects in FFX..

[center]

Click for details!
vorconan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 12th Nov 2007 00:53
I can't believe I've never seen this before, I've been trying out a FFVII (It's in my top 3 games) style game in between projects, and this doesn't look much different, it looks awesome. I would love to contribute to anything beneficial in this, since I have learn't so much from it already.

Good work



Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 12th Nov 2007 14:31
Thanks

Its nice to see some other Final Fantasy fans here too!
If you want to help then i guess there is way

1. Testing
-Test my latest releases and repot all proplems and bugs you see.. Also suggestions would be nice

2. Media
-If you have skills to make some models or 2d media then go ahead!
Ill see if i could add it then..

3. Music
-Important part in any games! If you can make music then FF Stylish music would be cool.

4. Cheering up!
-Just post in this thread so i can keep myself more motivated
I would been already quitted but cuz i like FF so much i have got motivation!

[center]

Click for details!
vorconan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 13th Nov 2007 18:35
Ok, I can do all of those (hopefully the sound one anyway). What kind of media are you after? I can create models, textures, particle textures or whatever. I'll definitely motivate too.

Thanks



Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 13th Nov 2007 18:43 Edited at: 13th Nov 2007 18:43
Hehee thats great

You can add me msn if you have one so we can discuss more!
But im afraid im not today online long cuz i have some proplems with school so..
Hmmh anyways.

For sounds you can do magic cast effect sword hit effects etc battle type effects like there is in final fantasy games

We dont need character shout sounds yet.. They will come later in game desing

Also walk step sound would be nice..

Also if you want to do musics then you can do battle music.
The other musics will come up when ill start game desing again..

For models.. Hmm.. They can be pretty hi-poly because im using Pre-Rendered backgrounds so dont be so afraid of poly count but dont go waste it either.. Just something what looks pretty good in detail

I could pick some fantasy character images from net for reference when we discuss in msn

Also im hopeless in animations so i can model too but im pretty bad in animation and head modelling But hope i can get around that.

For 2d media.. Well there isnt yet anything to make yet.. But if i come up anything i will give you a tell

Well there is bit of task.. But dont be afraid you defineatly dont need to make all of these.. Actually you dont need to make anything if you dont want to.. its up to you

But hope there isnt too much things i need or im making

Edit:
Forgot the msn address!


[center]

Click for details!
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 14th Nov 2007 02:00
Well, just to give you that motivational boost - I've been keeping quiet in this thread for no obvious reason, but thought I'd give you a heads up now: It looks quite slick - liked the effect, like the scripting, like it all . Keep up the good work!


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 14th Nov 2007 14:07
Hey thanks!

Everything you mentioned are really working nice expect the effect. My therory dint work and i dont really know how i would do that kind of effects :/

[center]

Click for details!
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 14th Nov 2007 14:36 Edited at: 14th Nov 2007 14:36
Little update
Battle transition effect!!



[center]

Click for details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 14th Nov 2007 23:38
Hehee

I made little logo desing for flare engine!



[center]

Click for details!
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 15th Nov 2007 01:34
Thats looks really cool.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
TEH_CODERER
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2003
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 15th Nov 2007 11:24
Wow! I'm sorry I ignored this thread for having Final Fantasy in the subject! Looks like an excellent start! Look forward to seeing this progress!

Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2007 20:05
very nice roxas you are really improving your skills .
I'm so sorry about my AES System. I didn't finish it because of my studies. I did a rpg battle demo 3-4 monthes ago but i didn't record a video. Maybe soon... (sometimes i can continue to implemant cool things to my bomberman game but i've not enough time to finish AES :/)

PS:i attached some old screens of AES demo. If i have the time i could perhaps giving you AES for your project as we decided before

Sry for mybad english

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 15th Nov 2007 20:14
Hey you are back (again )
Great to see you here.. And i know studies are pretty hard at that age.. But try still be on


Click For Details!

Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 16th Nov 2007 19:46 Edited at: 16th Nov 2007 21:10
Never mind what i said.. The prize was too low what i tried to archive.. So i will continue on this


Click For Details!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 22:23:54
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 22:23:54