Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / where to find a good description of the script language

Author
Message
JoeSan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 13:49
I mean a complete descrption!! You have one page 85 in the FPSC manual plus 2 or 3 more to suscintly describe "conditions" and "actions".
What are these ? variables ? defined globally (for the whole level) or local (within the script itself?
By experimenting for hours I found out that I write in script abc.fpi the folllowing:
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=10,hudimagefine=gamecore\huds\onepicked.png,hudname=wait1
the variable wait1 retains the hud name throught the level!!! which means one has to be very careful not to destroy or change these globals.

I don't want to make this too long, excuse me but the script language is very poor. Perhaps because I've been working for many years with Assembler, C, C++, Basic, Java,....

One last question: Can one write .fpi scripts with Dark Basic Pro?
xplosys
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 16:29
I know of nowhere that the fpi language is fully documented. It is particular to FPSC. There are some tut's on the top of the scripts forum and one on my site in the scripts section, which more or less explains how the engine processes a script and it's progression.

To me, the best program for writing fpi scripts is notepad. There is a program floating around, FPI Maker I think it is, that may also be useful.

Best.

I'm sorry, my answers are limited. You must ask the right question.

Butter fingers
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2006
Location: Mecca
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 16:41
I don't think the FPI maker accepts the new script commands though.

Inspire
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 17:33
Commander in Chief was planning on adding the new commands, but stopped working after he got permission from the guy who made it (as far as I know).

JoeSan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 21:03
How you enter the script lines whether with Notepad or FPI Maker is not the answer to my questions.
I would like to know the details of the variables used, that is, how long and wide do they retain their values, for instance: hudname=joe, if I use joe as my hud name elswewhere in another entity or another level does it retain the HUD that I created then?
But I think you have answered me already: FPSC does not intend to divulge the details. That doesn't speak highly of their values.
xplosys
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 21:11
Quote: "How you enter the script lines whether with Notepad or FPI Maker is not the answer to my questions."


Quote: "One last question: Can one write .fpi scripts with Dark Basic Pro? "


I think it was an answer to you question.

Quote: "if I use joe as my hud name elswewhere in another entity or another level does it retain the HUD that I created then?"


if hudname=joe in a script, then it will be joe in that script. There are only a few globals.... health, lives, etc. All other values are local to the script in which they are written.

Quote: "FPSC does not intend to divulge the details. That doesn't speak highly of their values. "


ROFL. It's a simple if/then syntax. Learn it.

Best.

I'm sorry, my answers are limited. You must ask the right question.

Inspire
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 24th Aug 2007 21:15
Quote: "How you enter the script lines whether with Notepad or FPI Maker is not the answer to my questions."


So?

Jeremiah
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Aug 2007 00:13
That is why you create a global variable with-in the source.
fata error
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Mar 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2007 00:11
Quote: "Basic"
lol all i know is what i did on my commodore 64

10 print "hi"
20 goto 10
run


lol!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 20:45:15
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 20:45:15