Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / level design question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok I am new to programing and extremely new to darkbasic. I am just trying out things to learn Darkbasic Pro. I have a general question about designing 3d levels.

Is it best to create a matrix and load in the seperate objects such as houses and trees or is it better to create the landscape using a program like 3d world studio and load it in as one big chunk? Or is that even possable? Please pardon me if my question is completely stupid as I am a complete newb.

Thanks
Zotoaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Sep 2007 14:40
Don't worry, you're question isn't stupid, it is infact a question that people with years of knowledge will still ask, and some people will give you different answers than others, but, here are some points that all people will give you:

- It depends entirelly on the type of game. For example, you dont need a matrix if you are making an FPS that is set inside buildings
- Flexibility means you can do more. If you load your level in as one big model from 3DWS, then when you want to add an extra tree or get rid of that annoying bench, you are screwed.

This is my personal way of doing it. I make my own file format, which basically says: Create an object (and specify the object type / model location), Get a texture image, Position, Scale and Rotate, then, worry about extra stuff like shaders.

Here is a simple file format I made that I can use for levels: