Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Newbie Alert!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 00:23
Hello! I just got my download ready for DarkGDK.NET today. And have been trolling the boards for a few days. You guys have one hell of a community!

My name is Dave, but call me PostalCOW. I'm a student did lots of programming as a kid with Basic on my handy TRS80, the to an Apple. Took a break from programming for a few years to chase girls, work life and all that other boring stuff. Now I've come back! Its been about 6 months, been programming in C++ and C# using Visual Studio 2005. I also downloaded the XNA and played with that for a bit with TorqueX. I love C# since its a great mix between easy to use and make it do what I want quick enough it was the whole C# thing about DarkGDK that lured me to it. It was reading your kick ass posts here that got me to click the buy now button.

I would love any tutorials, or threads you could direct to me to. Provide flame bait for entertainment (no, I am not trying to make an MMORPG with only 6 months of programming experience).

Requirements for life: Food-Water-Video Games!
Niels Henriksen
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 01:35
Welcome PostalCow. The best I can tell you is to play with the functions and see what they can do.

If you want to make a game then plan it in parts. Im making a (MMO)RPG and are doing that in parts. Now the char can walk around and pickup things.

There are so many things you can do with GDK and its only your ideas that put the limit

Niels Henriksen
Working on a (MMO)RPG right now in LightEngine
http://noggs.netopcom.dk/forum/default.asp - Forum for the game
PostalCOW
Years of Service
User Offline