Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DarkGDK & Shadows and Shaders

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 12:42
Hi all...

A couple of Q's here...

1. Is DarkGDK still being updated and developed? I'm new to DarkGDK and Dark Basic Pro (although I did use the original Dark Basic many years ago). I am initially impressed with what I have seen although it does appear like many things don't work 'as should' or 'bend the truth' slightly with regards to what the website claims it to can do... I'm not jarred in anyway as it's a great product, I only hope it continues to be updated inline with DBPro.Maybe I just want 'the moon on a stick'! Tell me it's not going .NET only, please?

2. Shadows and Shaders... I'm having a few problems with shadows and wanted multiple lights casting them. After playing with DGDK it appears that only light0 casts shadows (don't remember reading this on the website before entering my credit card details). So I'm thinking about try Shaders instead... Does this seem viable? I don't know the first thing about shaders and DGDK - DGDK has the ability to open a .fx file so would this work 'out of the box' or would I need to open my wallet again and purchase 'Dark Shader'?

If anyone could advise me on Shadow Shaders or point me in the right direction that would be great. any shadow .fx files out there?

Like I said, it is a great product and it does seem like I'm wingeing a bit but with just having a new baby, I'm not sure the missus will let me keep 'opening my wallet'! LOL!

Cheers Guys...
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 13:32
1. Is DarkGDK still being updated and developed?

Yes. But I'm not at liberty to give any more details, sorry!

Red Ocktober