Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Starting

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey, I'm completely new to programming...I know literally nothing about it.

This program has my interest as I know C++ is a leading language and want to start programming games (I know this won't happen for a while)

I have a college project to create a game using anything I want...but I'd love to learn to program using this software. I have a full year deadline and thought it would be a good amount of time to teach myself.

Sorry for the long introduction, but my question is : can anyone recommend any books that would greatly help me learn to program in terms of gaming? As I've said, I'm completely new.

Thank you.

RPDan
Years of Service
User Offline
I have 'Programming Role Playing Games with Direct X 9' by Jim Adams, which is a great book. I am using a lot of the ideas in that book and changing them to work with DarkGDK, as the 3d library that comes with it won't compile for me. This covers sound, input, 2d, 3d and multiplay in detail, as well as how to put it together to create an RPG. It does use some of the 'more advanced' concepts though which it does not cover, so make sure you get a good beginning c++ book as well if you get this (or indeed any other gaming book).
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 20:23
Well bro - I'm personally very glad you want to learn C++ and it is a leading programming language and a language that trancends different operating systems. (Various Linux distros, Macintosh, HP-UX, DEC Alpha, FreeBSD etc. unlike C# and other .net things which are primarily a Microsoft thing)