Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / GOTO and GOSUB problems.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Jun 2003 00:45
Hey,

I have been using the following code to try and restart my cruddy game im making;

if clicked(166,160,266,180)=1 : goto _jump : EXIT : endif
if clicked(371,160,471,180)=1 : playFlag=0 : EXIT : endif

I have been using both GODUB and GOTO but I cant quite seem to get it to work the way I want. Basically as this is my first game and im new to DB/P, my code is somewhat erh linear. I have a severe lack of functions etc,. I am not sure if this is a hige problem or not.

What I was hoping was, when the first area was clicked I could send the program back to the start of my code and have it run through again,. and if the other area is clicked then it will exit. The program quits okay but I cant get it to start from the top of my code again. The only thing that happens at the moment is that when you click the restart game area, it jumps to the code at the beginning does the first loop there and then comes back to the restart/quit screen again. Is there any way I can make the program jump to the top and work its way back through without returning?

Many Thanks,

Ash.
.Arf..
Scorpyo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Jun 2003 02:54
i think it should be coded like this:

if clicked(166,160,266,180)=1 then goto _jump
if clicked(371,160,471,180)=1 then playFlag=0 : EXIT

be aware that jumping back to the start of the code without re initializing your variables may leave unwanted values in them.
squids
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Jun 2003 03:20
Hey,