Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / zombie rts

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2007 06:03
I am a newbie at Darkbasic, and i want to create a zombie RTS. i am encountering a few problems. First of all would be the selection. once i know how to select an object by clicking it, i will probably be able to select an object using a selection box, but i dont know how to do this. i also might need some help on the ai, but i'll update this thread once i get more indepth

parrot
Veron
Years of Service
User Offline
I reccomend starting with an easier project than an RTS, for example, a small platformer. Also, read the tutorials located here - http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=99497&b=10 - they're an invaluable source of information.

Uncle Sam
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2007 06:45
Actually, starting with a hard project is a good way to get a realistic picture of what it takes to make a game.

To select an object, you can use the pick object command.

The above piece of code will return and store in the variable, "objnum", the object number that the mouse is currently position over, and it will only detect the objects between and equal to 1 and 1000. If you want it to pick the object ONLY when you click:

calcyman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2007 13:27
DIM objects_selected(totalobjects)

Here is the box selection algorithm (in semi-pseudocode)

Your signature has been erased by a hyper-intelligent pan-dimensional being (a mod)
Emphasoft
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Oct 2007 17:26
and here is my box selection algorithm without pseudocode:
reference me in the credits if you use it.