Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Pentium D w/ FPS x10?

Author
Message
nj18
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posted: 13th Dec 2007 17:23
I have a Pentium D 2.80ghz CPU, does it work with FPS x10?

Support our troops!
RickV
TGC Development Director
23
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Dec 2007 17:26
Unlikely, what graphics card do you have? Do you have Vista?

Financial Director
TGC Team
[Check out Jed McKenna - http://www.wisefoolpress.com/]
nj18
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 17:31
I'm thing about getting the 8800 GTX if FPSx10 runs on Pentium D,
I have Vista.

Support our troops!
FastBurst
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 20:17
Yours will work and run smooth.

Here are my PC specs my SUPER TOWER! HAHAHAHA.

Windows Vista Ultimate Edition 64 Bit
2 - Pentium D Extreme 965 Dual Cores OC at 4.25 Ghz(Hyper threaded 8 Cores seen) w/pure Copper& Gold water blocks
2 - GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 in SLI Connection (1.5GB Video)w/DangerDen water cooling adapters
8GB DDR2 6400 Ram
6 - 750GB SATA2 (3GB Transfer) Harddrvies w/Tagan Icy Box- World's First Trayless Mobil Rack for 3.5“ SATA HDD w/Casing&Fan - Black
4 - 22inch Widescreen Monitors
X-Fi Fatal1y SoundBlaster Platium Sound Card
Dual Gugabyte Lan with Additional WiFi
Watercooling with Fluid XP system runs at 33 degrees Cel with full load.
ASUS MB Special order (sorry Im not telling hehe)

All inside a Thermaltake Tai-Chi VB5001SNA Black/Silver Aluminum Extrusion ATX Full Tower Computer Case with liquid cooling system - Retail

Removed liquid cooling that came with it and upgraded to better liquid cooling as follows:
2 CPU - ZALMAN ZM-WB3 GOLD CPU Water Cooling System Block
2 GPU - DangerDen 8800 GTX Water Cooling Blocks
Koolance - EHX-1050SL External 1kW Radiator & Fans/Enclosure, Silver
XSPC DC1000 Water Pump (1000 liters/hr.) w/ Fitting Size Koolance Nozzle Pair, G1/4 Swivel Angled
Thermaltalke Flow TX - Water Flow Indicator for Liquid Cooling
Thermaltake AquaBay M3 - 1U Reservoir and Water Level Indicator
Thermaltake T-Type Water Temperature Indicator
Fluid XP+ Extreme Alien Green UV 32oz
3/4 Tubing all the way around

Spent about $6500 building it and I have another one identical setup and everything but it has Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit. =)

~James

Phoenix Sentry Programmer & CoFounder
Samoz83
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2003
Location: Stealing Ians tea from his moon base
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 20:48 Edited at: 14th Dec 2007 20:50
Quote: "AASUS MB Special order (sorry Im not telling hehe)"

er why not?

and also why did you go for the PD and not a q2d or a quad core?

www.firelightstudio.co.uk
FastBurst
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 20:54
Because I am special and had to pay about $950 for it lol. Plus they told me I couldn't say what model it was as part of the agreement.

=)

~James

Phoenix Sentry Programmer & CoFounder
FastBurst
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 20:57
Also on the quad cores I like them but they had just came out when I built this tower, the speeds as far as GHZ did not impress me yet.

Plus I know how realable Pentiums are as well. Until the technologies on quads get better I won't upgrade them yet. but will try them as quads with hyper threading will make the system look like it has 16 cores =)

Good thing my MB supports new technologies shoot it better for the price.

~James

Phoenix Sentry Programmer & CoFounder
PocoRev
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2004
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 02:18
hi nj18, i'm running the same processor as you and it's working just fine btw.. i'm running the 8800gt card with 512 ram. paid $259 for it !

Professional Atmospheric Skybox Textures
http://skymatter.thegamecreators.com
nj18
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 15:42
I'm changing to the 8800 GTS 640mb for about $250.

Support our troops!
PocoRev
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2004
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 17:04
good price! it's a relief to not have to scrap our existing PCs... i don't mind buying a new video card and even some ram, but a brand new machine? ouch!

anyhoo, i don't think you'll be disappointed - i know i'm not

Professional Atmospheric Skybox Textures
http://skymatter.thegamecreators.com
nj18
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 17:41
you are so right, upgrading is a lot cheaper.

Support our troops!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-03 16:08:47
Your offset time is: 2024-03-03 16:08:47