Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DBP-DarkGDK Problem

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I took some code directly from DBP and converted the basics of it to DarkGDK, so I thought. I'm getting some build errors, and my ship just sits there with no control(Arrows supposed to move it). I'm new to the GDK, i'm probably not using the variables right since that seems to be a major change from DBP.

Here is my code:

And here is my build:

Any suggestions?

Codger
Years of Service
User Offline
you don't need to keep "initializing" your variables

these changes clean up your build but the program does not seem to do anything

Codger

System
PIV 2.8 MZ 512 Mem
FX 5600 256 mem
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 19:28
Yup Codger cleaned up the code a bit.

I'd also add this: move the declaration for this code above the while loop:

like this:

And just have this in the while loop:

that's the first thing I saw outta place - kinda - at least I'd do it differently. Then I took off - Next person to improve this some more - your turn

XFS Illusion
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks guys. I actually read the C++ manual last night and realized i was re-initializing too much. Like i said, i'm a noobe to this language, not my first silly mistake, probably not my last. Thanks, i'll give this a shot.

jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Dec 2007 20:20
I'm glad you took the plunge! Hair Pulling at times it is - but once you start writing fairly "Tight" efficient code - you'll see that DarkGDK does pack a punch in performance.