Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / If you can run DirectX 10, please help me out.

Author
Message
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 01:40
Hello all. Just for fun the other day I decided to look at Direct3D 10 docs, and noticed that it's a LOT easier to setup a Direct3D 10 device over a Direct3D 9 device (Plus I don't have to worry about lack in support for features). Anyhow, after a while I decided that D3D9 and D3D10 are pretty different (To a certain extent), but are do-able in the same source code, so I started adding Direct3D 10 code to the Twilight Engine, and managed to eyeball the hell out of the code, comparing it with online samples, the Direct3D 10 documentation, etc. Anyhow, I have 4 programs attached in the ZIP. 2 are Direct3D 9 programs, and 2 are Direct3D 10 programs. The Direct3D 9 programs are meant to show how the Direct3D 10 programs should look. Alas, I can't test Direct3D 10 without a compatible video card (Which I hope to be getting as soon as possible). So, if anyone can, would anyone mind downloading and running the programs? They're nothing special. One is a flashing screen, and the other displays "Hello World" to the screen (Sorry for lack in formating of this post).

Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums

Attachments

Login to view attachments
RalphY
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: 404 (UK)
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:21
Wouldn't run for me, said it was unable to create Direct3D 10 device (yes I do have Vista, DirectX 10, and a GeForce 8800 ).

Oh boy! Sleep! That's when I'm a Viking! | Super Nintendo Chalmers!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:35
Can you post the contents of the log.txt file? Thank you.

Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums
Lucifer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:38
i got the same error message, but i couldnt find any log.txt

Free music @ www.Soundclick.com\Peacemaker
Jeff032
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:43
This is what I got:

01/09/08 20:39:58 - Direct3D Device (10): Creation failed.
01/09/08 20:39:59 - Ending Direct3D

Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:46
@Lucifer and RalphY
The log.txt will appear as D3D9_D3D10\D3D10\log.txt (Assuming D3D9_D3D10 is the extracted folder).

@Jeff032
Thanks. It appears it occurs early on, during the first initialization phase of Direct3D 10. Did you try both Screen.exe and Text.exe?


Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums
Jeff032
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 02:52
Quote: "@Jeff032
Thanks. It appears it occurs early on, during the first initialization phase of Direct3D 10. Did you try both Screen.exe and Text.exe?"


Yes, both failed the same way.

RalphY
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: 404 (UK)
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 15:34
Ah sorry, didn't bother posting the log file as it basically just said the same thing as the error message (same as Jeff032s).

Oh boy! Sleep! That's when I'm a Viking! | Super Nintendo Chalmers!
Lucifer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 16:13
Quote: "@Lucifer and RalphY
The log.txt will appear as D3D9_D3D10\D3D10\log.txt (Assuming D3D9_D3D10 is the extracted folder)."


i still dont find a log.txt

Free music @ www.Soundclick.com\Peacemaker
Jeff032
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2008 20:20
Did you actually extract the exes from the zip file? Otherwise you won't see one.

MartinS
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 11th Jan 2008 02:55 Edited at: 11th Jan 2008 02:56
I'm getting the same error as everyone else:
Quote: "01/10/08 20:54:17 - Direct3D Device (10): Creation failed.

01/10/08 20:54:19 - Ending Direct3D

01/10/08 20:54:28 - Direct3D Device (10): Creation failed.

01/10/08 20:54:29 - Ending Direct3D"


System specs in sig. Hope you get it to work

MS

EDIT: I forgot to mention, the DX9 EXEs run fine.

AMD 4800+ (2.5GHz dual core), 3GB RAM (667 MHz), 320GB HD (7200 RPM), EVGA 8800GT Superclocked (factory OC'd @650 MHz, OC'd to 700 MHz), HP 22" Widescreen LCD, Vista Home Premium
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 11th Jan 2008 19:33
Okay, here's a new demo. Extract the ZIP file, and run the EXE's. 9.exe is Direct3D 9. 10.exe is Direct3D 10. Please inform me of what you see.

NOTE: Sound errors don't matter.

Thanks.

Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MartinS
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 11th Jan 2008 20:25 Edited at: 11th Jan 2008 20:25
DX10 still isn't working, here's the contents of the log file:
Quote: "01/11/08 14:20:09 - Direct3D Device: Creation Success.

01/11/08 14:20:09 - Error in sound initialization.

01/11/08 14:20:17 - Ending Direct3D

01/11/08 14:20:19 - Direct3D Device (10): Creation (hardware) failed.

01/11/08 14:20:19 - Direct3D Device (10): Creation (reference) failed.

01/11/08 14:20:19 - Error in D3D creation.

01/11/08 14:20:21 - Error in sound initialization.

01/11/08 14:20:21 - Ending Direct3D"


The DX9 EXE ran fine, except for the sound issue. The DX10 EXE just said "Error in D3D creation." and closed. Quick question, do both the DX9 and DX10 examples share the same source code (besides the DX9 and DX10 differences)?

MS

EDIT: Nice sig, btw.

AMD 4800+ (2.5GHz dual core), 3GB RAM (667 MHz), 320GB HD (7200 RPM), EVGA 8800GT Superclocked (factory OC'd @650 MHz, OC'd to 700 MHz), HP 22" Widescreen LCD, Vista Home Premium
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 11th Jan 2008 20:38
@MartinS
Yes, they both share the same source code, except the D3D 10 source code contains one thing seperate:

#define TWILIGHTENGINE_DIRECT3D10


That's at the start of the source code, before TwilightEngine.h is included. For the end-user, they won't have to take this define into consideration unless they wish to do something different for DX10.

Internally, it's all the same except for the DX9 and DX10 differences. For example, in Direct3D 10 I have to create the device and the swap chain, as well as a render target view, and depth view (However I'm not creating the depth view yet).

In the previous source code I apparently forgot to set 2 variables for the Direct3D 10 source, I added some extra stuff to the D3D10 source though (Which is checking if a hardware device will work (Which if it doesn't then a reference device will be made)).

I'll try again later (To get Direct3D 10 working). I imagine it's just a simple mistake, as it all looks correct.



Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 13th Jan 2008 21:34
I figured I'd just use this thread to post, considering this is a larger community. Anyhow, I'll take exactly what I have written in the beta testers section for the Twilight Engine, and show it here:

You won't be able to compile it just yet, but this here GUI I'm working on is made in the TwilightEngine. I originally was working on it to make a cool installer for the TwilightEngine, but that turned into making a huge GUI, and this is about 1 days worth of work, so I decided I'd show it here. No bugs found in the TwilightEngine so far, 2 features added to the TwilightEngine:
1. The TwilightEngine now has the ability to clip text to a specific rectangle (Per text draw). This was necessary for the GUI to look, not-choppy.

2. The TwilightEngine now has the ability to draw text to a word-break wrap. Meaning, you can now simulate word-wraps in the TwilightEngine with one command, twDrawTextWrap. This was necessary for displaying things like multi-line edits, and the such.


The features I need to add to the GUI:
* Ability to destroy windows (I'm trying to get my head wrapped around doing this, for an efficient way it may involve a slight rewrite).

* Add minimize, maximize, restore, and close button capabilities to the windows.

* Add input callbacks for window procedures.


Features I need to add to the TwilightEngine to help with the GUI:

* Support for creating textures on the fly.

* Support for altering a texture in memory.

* Support for building memblocks from textures, and textures from memblocks.

* Pixel and Vertex shader support for sprites (For a cool blur effect )

* Add complex shape support, this means being able to draw a box, but controlling the positions of the four vertices, instead of giving them the actual box shape. This can add effects such as rotation (Using twSin and twCos), as well as effects similar to what compiz-fusion offers, with the motion of the windows.


The GUI will be distributed as an add-on for the TwilightEngine. I might sell it, or I might just distribute it with the TwilightEngine itself (As an add-on still).

Based on the quality of the GUI you see thus far, should I sell it (If so, then for how much), or should I keep it free? For your decision, you should also take into the account of TGC and all their multitude of plugins (If you do, try to take into account the good aspect of this, and the bad aspect of this).

Obviously if I work on it and it starts to look good, I'll want to sell it, and that thought makes it difficult to decide what is better or not, hence why I'm asking.


Cheers,

-naota



-------------------------------------------------------------------

So that's what I'm posting about, attached is the GUI, any ideas on if I should sell it or not are appreciated. Also, if that version happens to display the FPS rate, would you mind telling me it and posting your system specs?


Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Xenocythe
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 13th Jan 2008 21:41
Sweet dude

Btw aaron, havent seen you on MSN in a while!


Sig by BiggAdd.
MartinS
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 14th Jan 2008 01:55
Nice! I get around 250 - 260 FPS. As for selling it, I should think that it depends on the amount of people who buy the Twilight Engine. If there are very few people who buy it, then I would include the GUI as an add-on. But if lots of people are buying the Engine, then I would sell it for $10-$20.

MS

AMD 4800+ (2.5GHz dual core), 3GB RAM (667 MHz), 320GB HD (7200 RPM), EVGA 8800GT Superclocked (factory OC'd @650 MHz, OC'd to 700 MHz), HP 22" Widescreen LCD, Vista Home Premium
Raven
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 14th Jan 2008 18:15
Dx10 one didn't work, but that second one I get 350fps on a Radeon HD 2600 XT. So not bad, guess either you fixed it or that's a DirectX9 runtime.

Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 14th Jan 2008 20:43 Edited at: 14th Jan 2008 21:10
Raven, the GUI is running in Direct3D 9. Direct3D 10 is difficult to program for, but I'm trying (And hoping I'll get a card for it soon).

MartinS, okay. Yeah I'm still thinking about it, we'll see where it goes from here I suppose.

Xenocythe, a) When'd you change your name again? b) Yeah I know, blame not having the internet.

edit
Btw, I added the ability to close a window, the window procedure will now be called for each event, the window will be informed that its going to be destroyed right before its freed from memory, and some possible-bug-fixes have been made to the GUI. I only say possible because something didn't look right that would allow invisible windows to be draged.

Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 8th Feb 2008 02:57
Okay here we go! If you have DirectX 10 and a DX10 card, please run this and let me know if it works! I spent a few days working on getting this up and running (More like 8 hours spanned across 2 or 3 days).

Please run this and let me know what you see. It will output a log.txt file in the same folder as the program, enjoy!


Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums

Attachments

Login to view attachments
James H
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 8th Feb 2008 03:06 Edited at: 8th Feb 2008 03:37
02/08/08 02:03:55 - Attempting to call "initDirect3D"

02/08/08 02:04:02 - D3D10(CS):N:X

02/08/08 02:04:03 - Direct3D 10 Success!



Attatched is winrar file with 5 image files - there names are a description of the sound the system makes at that stage followed by the order they occured.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Preston C
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2003
Location: Penn State University Park
Posted: 8th Feb 2008 03:47 Edited at: 8th Feb 2008 03:48
Same as above (though it had a popup from the intro that just threw "WTF" in my face, gave me a laugh).

Log:


After that, it just displayed a white screen, and crashed when I tried to close it.

It also crashes when I try to maximize the window.



AMD Opteron 185 2.6 Ghz | 2 GB RAM | 8800 GTS 640MB | Vista Home Premium
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 9th Feb 2008 02:41
Awsome! It slightly works!

Well, I think I know the source of those bugs (Oh, and the WTF was for my testing purposes because a section of code wasn't supposed to be reached if the program failed, but if it succeeded it was supposed to be reached and I forgot to take that part out).


Thanks, the new version should work better, plus I'll have to better eye-ball the sColor structure I created for the D3D10 float 4 based color clearing.

I'll have another demo soon, thanks again.

Cheers,

-naota

With any luck you'll be able to turn a fully functioning program to a crashing program with just a little bit of coding.
Aex.Uni forums

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-19 22:33:19
Your offset time is: 2024-11-19 22:33:19