Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / programming and compiling questions from a newbie

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2008 09:33
Im new to programming and DBpro.I started this year and I have some questions.

while-endwhile

repeat-until

for-next

do-loop

All of these stuff, do the same thing. I noticed that all of those boil down to a do-loop statement.
Can someone tell me what are the differences of those looping commands?
Im really concerned with speeding up the program. I also want to know if I had 1000 of these loops,which of the commands would do the exact process the fastest?
Roses In Dreams
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2008 09:35
my program crashes when i clone sprite 1000 times but does fine around 500 times.

What exactly was happening?
SimSmall
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2008 11:05 Edited at: 6th Feb 2008 11:06
First example:
No sign of setting B's values, so is 1 less than 0?
No it's not, so the statements between while and endwhile will never be run because the condition for running the while loop was not met...

Second example:
Again, no sign of setting B's value, A starts as 1, and is increased to 2. Now your program checks if 2 is equal to 0. It's not so A is increased by one, and your program check if 3 is equal to 0. It's not, so A is increased again. You may notice that A is actually getting further away from zero.
So for now, I'll tell you that A will never equal zero, and the loop will run forever. (Actually, it will reach zero, but it might confuse you if I told you why, so, "it won't reach zero", that's the official line)

Third Example: