Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Jump/Crouch System for this code

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Feb 2008 04:55 Edited at: 20th Feb 2008 04:57
Hey all,

I was wondering if you guys could help me out with jumping and crouching as I've never done it before. I'm on a tight project deadline and need this asap if possible. Here's my code:

Sorry if you don't have DP. As you can see though, there is a clock time thing and a jumping subroutine. If anyone could help me out with jumping and crouching I'd be forever grateful, as would my group.

Jumping: I really just need to:

-check if the player is at the lowest point possible (spawn point)
-If space is down, start a jump
-If jump is in progress, do not jump again
-Jump should go up, gradually stop, then return to the spawn Y level.
-Allow jumps again.

Later on I'll need to see if the player is touching the ground object but for now just this is fine.

Crouching: Instant camera-Y lowering is fine, but I can probably do that myself. I just need help with this:

-If player is crouching and jumps, jump height should be lower than normal jump.

I know it's kinda a lot to ask, but I really need this or my group will fall behind and maybe fail completely. Any and all help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Feb 2008 22:12
Quote: "Sorry if you don't have DP."

As well as Dark Physics, you also need Sparky's Collision V2.0 (which I don't use) so I couldn't run this either.

TDK_Man

culmor30
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Feb 2008 23:13 Edited at: 20th Feb 2008 23:45