Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Code errors in loop hell - new to darkbasic.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2008 02:36
Hi, I'm new to both this forum and the Darkbasic language. I coded in old Qbasic back in the days, and have been learning various other languages since then, so I'm not new to the logic behind coding, just the language and it's nusiances.

Below is some gravity code I've been trying to compile, written by me, of course. I'm not sure why, but it's been throwing compiler errors at me everytime I build it, and the errors always are on the lines with the if loop statements or the endif statements.

If someone who knows the way DB thinks and what keywords are allowed in combinations could take a look at this script, I'd appreciate it.

The only two objects in the scene are object 1, my hero "happy", and object 2, the level geometry. My other, position based collisions worked fine, but don't calculate any gravity forces.

And, yes, I know this will result in him endlessly bouncing due to the reverse of his Yspeed at the end of the loops. It's only temporary, as a test for roof and floor collisions without needing to worry about a jump command yet.

Anyway, this code is in my main loop:

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide. Or even an easier way of doing this, if there is one. Lord knows this is an awful messy way of doing gravity.
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2008 02:48
happySpeedY=Gravity+happySpeedY < Not so good
Inc happySpeedY#,Gravity# < Better

if object collision(2,1)=1 then < Wrong!

If object collision(2,1)=1 < Right!
Endif

else if happySpeedY<0 then < Wrong!

< Right!