Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2008 23:52 Edited at: 24th Feb 2008 00:49
Im rather new to Dark Basic, most of programming experience has been in c++, and some c#. Currently learning assembly in school. My main goal is to put a stupid game idea a reality. This requires me on me learning how to make a fps. i got a lot of the 3d stuff figured out, playing around with the different commands. I figured for the most part,how to follow the contour of a randomly generated matrix "bumpy" ground/floor. I plan on making some really basic "prototype" of games. First probably being a walking gallery of pictures. like a museum just as a project.

My question. Is it worth the experience of trying to Code the 3d objects. Is it a learning experience i should do, Or should i spend that time to struggle with a 3d map making software. If you recommend software, please recommendations (free is nice) and possibly a link or book as a tutorial to help shave off a tad of the learning curve.

as i get more into it, i am sure it be useless to reinvent the wheel, so i was wondering what add ons if any i should eventually get/learn for darkbasic pro.

Any Tips to make life easy in the long run is nice. I don't mind doing things the hard way at first, but i don't know if it is worth it in darkbasic pro.

Thank you!
pirate
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Feb 2008 03:44