Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / powers script needed

Author
Message
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 24th Feb 2008 23:49
my basic idea is you perss buttons to activate powers (z=all enimies within range get sucked to top of room, x=enimies get blasted back, c=player can pass thourgh walls) but i am not sure what actions to use for this, can anyone help?

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
PresFox
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th Feb 2008 00:04
i dont think this is possible

Microsoft isnt evil, they just make really crappy operating systems -- Linus torvalds
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 25th Feb 2008 01:08
some of them might be... I am prett sure the blowing the back hting is good...

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Seth Black
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posted: 25th Feb 2008 21:46 Edited at: 25th Feb 2008 21:49
...yes, you could use .fpi scripting to achieve these effects.

Of the three, player phasing through walls would be the sloppiest to pull off. Assigning a special script to walls would just plain suck, though.


Widow 13 - ©2008 Harsh Games, Inc
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 25th Feb 2008 23:12
Quote: "Of the three, player phasing through walls would be the sloppiest to pull off. Assigning a special script to walls would just plain suck, though. "


are you sure there is nothing to achive no clipping? i'm upprised... oh well, I can come up with something else if not.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
CoffeeGrunt
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 26th Feb 2008 18:56
You could have three entities each activated by a different key, then when they are activated they will in turn activate the entities corresponding to your "power".......

This will be quite complex to pull off, but quite possible nonetheless....

Toasty Fresh
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 26th Feb 2008 22:46
You could alter the physics for the blasting back enemies one.

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 26th Feb 2008 23:05
Quote: "You could have three entities each activated by a different key, then when they are activated they will in turn activate the entities corresponding to your "power"......."


3? why not all in one? I saw in the script list of the manal "playerhaskey", witch is where thae player presses that button on the keyboard... I believe.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Fruitless CRUNK
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2007
Location: DRINKING MY HOT COFFEE =:-)
Posted: 26th Feb 2008 23:29 Edited at: 26th Feb 2008 23:29
tigerman 22,
Hi welcome to the forums. I'm sorry but it is not posable to push people through the walls. But the other two are posable. Now that's going to take some mass scripting, a few nights,and about three cases of Mountan Dew.

BOOM!!!!!! HEAD SHOT!!!
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 27th Feb 2008 02:56
Quote: "Now that's going to take some mass scripting, a few nights,and about three cases of Mountan Dew."


do you mean that in a positive or negitive manner?

if wall phazing is imposssibe... then maby activating the "suspend" command can be done to all entities at the same time?

if not I WILL adapt.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 09:07
I can help you here.

A long time ago, I posted a sample game here, but nobody looked at it, so I put the special scripts in storage.

Here are some:

Antigravity(requires the Benge's Sprite pack for the sound):

;Artificial Intelligence Script

;Header

desc = Telekinesis Antigravity?

;Triggers

:state=0,scancodekeypressed=25,plrwithindist=60:nogravity,moveback=45,moveup=10,state=1
:state=1:plrsound=audiobank\benge sprites\sparks.wav,state=0

;End of Script

(Press the key when close to an object, and viola, ANTIGRAVITY)

Passthrough:

;Artificial Intelligence Script

;Header

desc = Telekinesis Pass?

;Triggers

:state=0,scancodekeypressed=24,plrwithindist=60:coloff,state=1
:state=1:plrsound=audiobank\items\healthup.wav,state=0

;End of Script

(Press the key when near to an object to walk through it.)

;Artificial Intelligence Script

;Header

desc = Telekinesis Light (put light into ifused field, lights main script should be lightoff)?

;Triggers

:state=0,scancodekeypressed=23,plrinzone=1:activateifused=1,state=1
:state=1,plrsound=audiobank\voices\player\spawn.wav
;End of Script

(Not too sure about this one, but it works. Press button to get light, you need to add lights beforehand though.)

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 09:10
P.S If you intend to use these scripts in a game of any kind, I would appreciate it if you include me in your credits. Not COMPULSORY but i'd like it. Put me as [WPH] Waffle Pancake Hybrid.

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
CoffeeGrunt
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 19:11
Quote: "3? why not all in one? I saw in the script list of the manal "playerhaskey", witch is where thae player presses that button on the keyboard... I believe.
"



Yes, but it will be much easier, quicker, and more efficient if all done separately, rather than one huge and possibly buggy script....

107295 answered your questions,

107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2008 04:08
Why thank you.

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 7th Mar 2008 10:33
P.S The light script thing might not work, as its a bit faulty, but you can sort that out.

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
Sid Sinister
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 06:12
Do you do anything besides mooch scripts from everyone? jw

"If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Isaac Newton
-Computer Animation Major @Baker.edu-
FredP
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 06:25
I am starting to see more and more of these request threads for scripts.If they can't be kept to a minimum then script requests will no longer be allowed.
We went from the odd or occassional script request to requesting scripts we need instead of learning how to do it ourselves...

Please have mercy and use the search function.
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 19:39
Quote: "I am starting to see more and more of these request threads for scripts.If they can't be kept to a minimum then script requests will no longer be allowed.
We went from the odd or occassional script request to requesting scripts we need instead of learning how to do it ourselves..."


...but is'nt one of the best ways to learn how to script to disect a script?

sorry for asking so mutch.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
CoffeeGrunt
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 20:11
Quote: "...but is'nt one of the best ways to learn how to script to disect a script?"


Yes. But all you want is us to make one for you, and that's it. You won't dissect the script we make...

Sid Sinister
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 20:51
It's not so bad if you do that once in a while. But so far, every thread you've made has been a script request. Maybe if you made a script and gave back to the community a little, we would be more willing to give up our own work for you.

"If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Isaac Newton
-Computer Animation Major @Baker.edu-
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 21:49
Quote: "It's not so bad if you do that once in a while. But so far, every thread you've made has been a script request. Maybe if you made a script and gave back to the community a little, we would be more willing to give up our own work for you."


o.k. I will see what I can make.

once again, sorry.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Sid Sinister
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Mar 2008 04:43
Good man

"If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Isaac Newton
-Computer Animation Major @Baker.edu-
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 9th Mar 2008 19:58 Edited at: 9th Mar 2008 19:59
but I might ask for better discriptions of actions and/or condisions, but that is the worst (cheers Sid Sinister)

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Rampage
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 01:59
The push back thing wouldn't be much without ragdoll though...

DevilMouse Developments
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 03:11
Quote: "The push back thing wouldn't be much without ragdoll though..."


witch will be hard to do without changing the ai script of the thing. but I will try.

is there somthing in scripting that makes it affect evrything anywhere? that would help.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 12th Mar 2008 03:28
Nope, there isn't a default way to alter tons of entities at one time.

This is the reason Allies are so hard to make, because the only thing a script can seemingly target is the player. It CAN target other entities, but it's hard to do it purposefully, lol.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 12th Mar 2008 04:41
Quote: "Nope, there isn't a default way to alter tons of entities at one time.

This is the reason Allies are so hard to make, because the only thing a script can seemingly target is the player. It CAN target other entities, but it's hard to do it purposefully, lol. "


hmmm... what if you put entitywithinzone (does it exist)? could that work? me hopes so!

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 13th Mar 2008 00:58
Funny you should mention that...

TECHNICALLY there is such a command in the source code, however when I looked into it, this is what I found:



That's basically a message from Lee saying "I didn't get around to making it."

What this also says is that the command will set only a SINGLE entity within the zone as it's target and not all of them... so even if it was coded, it wouldn't be what you're looking for.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 14th Mar 2008 20:38
Quote: "What this also says is that the command will set only a SINGLE entity within the zone as it's target and not all of them... so even if it was coded, it wouldn't be what you're looking for. "


oh. thanks, then is there somthing with a entity is in the cross-hair?

by the way... what does rem mean?

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 14th Mar 2008 21:01
"rem" is code for "Remark"... it's just a line that will be completely ignored by the compiler. And since the ONLY code for this scripting command is two Remarks, then the compiler doesn't do ANYTHING when someone tries to use the command.


About your other request, sorry, can't find anything for if the entity is in the player's crosshair... only command close to that is "plringunsight" but that's the opposite of what you're looking for.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 14th Mar 2008 22:45
ok, so I have to put the scrpit in each entity using "plrwithin" and "plrhaskey"? daaaarn.

what commands would be used to suck entities up?

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 14th Mar 2008 22:59
I found this command in the digital manual that came with FPSC:

Quote: "MOVEUP=X
moves the entity up by X units"


Looking up commands in the manual really does help.

I'm sure if you played around with that command, you'll be able to come up with something.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 14th Mar 2008 23:32
Quote: "Looking up commands in the manual really does help.

I'm sure if you played around with that command, you'll be able to come up with something. "


thanks, some of the discriptins are confusing though, but not this one.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Fruitless CRUNK
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2007
Location: DRINKING MY HOT COFFEE =:-)
Posted: 15th Mar 2008 17:08 Edited at: 15th Mar 2008 17:09
Yeah I learnd off of the manual ,in return; my first AI script works perfict because I LEARND OFF THE MANUAL!!.........for the noobs who want to learn about the scripting part of FPSCX10.

BOOM!!!!!! HEAD SHOT!!!
107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 16th Mar 2008 06:54
I don't get how MOVEUP works.

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 17th Mar 2008 22:13
MOVEUP will instantly move the entity upwards by X units. A segment is 100 units high, so that should give you a clue as to what kinda scale it's used with.

Also, remember that if you don't COSNTANTLY move the entity upwards, gravity will just bring them back down.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

107295
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 20th Mar 2008 18:54
Othanx, i needed that.

So a Shepard said to his flock; "Thou shalt be confuseth!" and so they were.
tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 23rd Mar 2008 23:59
Quote: "MOVEUP will instantly move the entity upwards by X units"


so like it teleports? and what is a unit (compared to the player if needed)?

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 24th Mar 2008 01:34
Quote: "A segment is 100 units high, so that should give you a clue as to what kinda scale it's used with."


Allow me to elaborate even more:

A segment (1x1 room) is 100x100x100 units. Meaning that a 1 by 1 room is exactly 100 units high, 100 units wide, and 100 units long.

The player (I believe, in reference to the camera), is roughly 45 units high.

The "MOVEUP" command doesn't teleport. It still runs through collision detection. In order to teleport, you will need to use the "PLRMOVETO" command, and give it an entity name. However, be warned that people have had problems with this command. I have even gone as far as writing a Bug Report for it. If you want to use it, I suggest reading the Bug Report that I made for it.


Good Luck!


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 24th Mar 2008 22:56
Quote: "The "MOVEUP" command doesn't teleport. It still runs through collision detection"


so if I have a celing between the entity and the units I want it to move up, it will not pass thorught the celing?

by the way, thanks for the ludicris maaounts of help you have given me and others, you are awsome Plystire.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 24th Mar 2008 23:13
Well, that's how it should work. If they end up going through the cieling, then that'd be classified as a bug and shoud be reported.

So, my thoughts would be to give it a shot and find out what happens.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 24th Mar 2008 23:19
thanks! maybe I will post the script on here when I am done!

again, thanks!

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
castek
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2007
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 25th Mar 2008 05:35
i dont know too much about scripting but you could do somthing like




well something like that anyway. well i doubt it will work but u can try. the only problem is it moves any dynamic entity not just an enemy.

"The Beginning is the end."
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 25th Mar 2008 06:34
"anywithin" will check other entities distances to the entity on which this script is attached, and not to the player, which is the problem.

Good idea, though.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

CoffeeGrunt
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 25th Mar 2008 12:13
hmmm....We could try our good friend, invisible entity that follows the player......




tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 25th Mar 2008 23:07
Quote: "hmmm....We could try our good friend, invisible entity that follows the player......"


witch will sadly slow the game down.

I am glad this thread is getting so big, thaks for all the help evryone! oh, and I do want all entities to move, so good on ya castek!

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 26th Mar 2008 00:18
Well, it won't necessarily slow the game down tremendously! If you code the script efficiently enough, it should be rather effective.


Good idea, CG.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 26th Mar 2008 03:13 Edited at: 26th Mar 2008 03:22
i've tried the command that has the entity follow the player, and I have not realy got it to work, none the less, I shall try again.

toodles!

edit: I can't seem to find witch action makes the entity follow the player, help? anyone? thanks.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 26th Mar 2008 04:05
Quote: "FOLLOWPLR

follows the players trail if one exists"


Seems pretty self-explanatory.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

tigerman 22
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2008
Location: winnipeg, manatoba.
Posted: 26th Mar 2008 22:59
couldn't find it, on the list. thank you.

probability states that I will know how this sentence will end FRAPPACHINO!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 06:13:20
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 06:13:20