Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / problem with shooter

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Mar 2008 23:08 Edited at: 6th Mar 2008 23:46
What im trying to do is make a side scrolling shooter but i can't get my box to move and shoot at the same time when ever i shoot my box stops moving and i have to wait untill the shoot animation is done heres my code please help

I just noticed my shooting code doesn't even work right

I'm a noob help will be accepted
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Mar 2008 03:11 Edited at: 7th Mar 2008 03:15
For whatever reason, the correct Y coordinate of your shot is not being returned (maybe using 'move object' has something to do with it). Some comments:
1. You have coded it so that you have to wait for the shot to get all of the way across the screen before you can move; not a good idea. Your code should allow things to keep moving during each loop.
2. What's with using camera 1? Why not just use camera 0 (default)? With your code, you actually have both cameras working. If you move up toward the top it shows object #1 in two places.
3. Sync rate 0 is good when you want to know how fast something will run or to make comparisons. You should choose a sync rate that will keep the game pace at a reasonably close constant. Otherwise it will fly on the best machines and drag on the slow ones. It depends on the game as to what that is. Normally I code in the 40 - 60 FPS range.

I have revamped your code to give you something to work with. Here it is:

You should be able to add multiple missiles fairly easily.