Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help loading matrix! Error: Can't understand command at line 30.

Author
Message
JesterDev
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 05:19
This was working fine just an hour ago, and now I cant get it to work. When I run the source code I get an error saying that it cant understand the command at line 30:

`load the matrix
LoadMatrix ("map",1)

I'm learning from the tutorials listed at the top of this forum, so this use's a matrix made in MatEdit.

Source code below.
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 07:10
You need to put the file extension on map

RPGamer

Current Project: Eternal Destiny
Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Go to the Eternal Destiny Forum!
JesterDev
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 07:29
That didnt work either. It still says it cant understand the command.

JesterDev
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 07:59 Edited at: 4th Jul 2003 08:00
Never mind. I was'nt using the new LoadMatrixPro for Darkbasic pro.

But now I cant get anything on screen. It loads, show's a blank screen then closes. I tryed running it in debug mode but it crash's.

TeePee
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 14:29
hey um... i might be missing something here but in your source code there wasnt anything calling upon 'main'. i was looking out for something that just said 'gosub main' but i couldnt find anything. that might be your prob

Yuri
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 17:06
Is LoadMatrix() a function?? if it is then you should remove the space from the command an the brackets:

from
LoadMatrix ("map",1)

to
LoadMatrix("map",1)

i haven't the LoadMatrix.dba so i can't check this.. but i think that the problem is the space between the command and the brackets...

bye

CBMZone main administrator
http://www.cbmzone.com
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 4th Jul 2003 17:48
Nope, that would be whitespace that doesn't do anything. You could put a million spaces in there and it would still work.

"Computers are useless they can only give you answers."
TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Jul 2003 01:09
This could be one of two things:

1. If the function is unknown, you may not have the #Include file at the start of your program.

2. The tutorial you are following uses an older version of Matedit than the one you are using. Check the docs with the version of MatEdit you are using to see that you are using the call correctly.

Your version may use the format:

Success=LoadMatrixPro("matrixname",1)

(The Pro version is a different include file to the DBC version).

TDK_Man

For MatEdit Pro Progress Reports, see the MatEdit page at http://www.matedit.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-20 13:42:36
Your offset time is: 2024-09-20 13:42:36