Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / advanced collision (at least i think its advanced....)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
well ok, this is my first time doing 3D programming. i seam to be catching on pretty quickly, cept this collision thing doesnt seam to be working for me. in all my 2D work, i have been able to check for a collision before moving intead of DB's collide and then return to previous coords.... anyways, the point im trying to get to is that im not understanding some things about 3D collision. mainly i would like to be able to not walk through things like walls, to slide up against them instead of just freezing, and to be able to walk on them if its maybe a roof of a building or something. is that too much?
im attempting to make a small first person shooter, and it would be kinda lame if u were glued to the ground the whole time.

well, im accepting any ideas and any help would be greatly appreciated! thanx in advance
Mentor
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jul 2003 18:31 Edited at: 8th Jul 2003 18:34