Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Adding a .X map file with textures

Author
Message
baconboy2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posted: 24th May 2008 22:28
Im having a bit of trouble programming a 3DWS map, saved in .X, into my current program.

I have got all the textures, and the .X file into my media tab on the right of the screen,. I have then put the x file into the program, by loading the model, and I have programmed in a few textures aswell.
When I try to run the map, the only texture that appears is the bottom most one in the list. This is what it looks like at the moment.



Then, of course, the coding goes on with the camera and player stuff etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!



www.the-anarchy.fusiveweb.co.uk
TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 25th May 2008 10:08
You seem to be making a common mistake - confusing Bitmaps with Images.

Don't use Load Bitmap and then Get Image. Use Load Image instead.

If your 256x256 textures are actually full screen and you need to use Get Image then consider resizing them to the actual size required so you can use Load Image.

As for the texture problem, You can only use Texture Object once per object. If you use:

texture object 2,4
texture object 2,5


...then texture number 5 will replace texture 4 on object 2.

TDK_Man

baconboy2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posted: 25th May 2008 11:34 Edited at: 25th May 2008 17:07
Ok, I get what you mean with the first part, thanks.

But with the map bit, how do I apply multiple textures to a map? Because the map has lots of different models/solids in, which means that each model has its own texture.

Help would be appreciated



www.the-anarchy.fusiveweb.co.uk
Scorpyo
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 25th May 2008 19:52 Edited at: 25th May 2008 19:52
If you have textured your map in 3DWS just export to x into a specific folder, 3DWS will put there the x model along with the textures (they must be .jpg or .bmp, not the .stf 3DWS textures).
Put the map folder in your DBP project directory and just load the x file, it will show up textured in dbp.

example attached

cheers

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baconboy2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posted: 29th May 2008 11:51
Ok, all sorted now, cheers!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-27 14:27:42
Your offset time is: 2024-09-27 14:27:42