Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Functions and Arrays

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi guys,

I have looked through forums and tried to use the visual c++ help files and even went online to find answers but to no avail.

I have learned how to creat a simple array.

int myobjects[1];
myobject[1]=1;

For example.

My problem is I want to make the array global through all of my functions. How to do that.

Sorry I am new to c++. Basic I have down but I want to see how well the performance of dark gdk is compared to dark basic.

Hope this made sense.

Thanks
Deeamon
unitech
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jun 2008 19:31 Edited at: 6th Jun 2008 19:32
I would suggest learning about classes. You make a main.cpp like you did.. then you make a game.cpp with a game.h file. the h file is a class that holds all of you data and what not. You decide in that h file what is global and private.

indulge
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/
Michael P
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jun 2008 19:57 Edited at: 6th Jun 2008 19:59
If you create the array outside of any function then it will be accessible to all of your functions. Any function can change the array and any function can read from the array.

e.g.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jun 2008 22:15

Does that actually work. It would likely fail in runtime. You've declared an integer array of only one integer. Since arrays are zero-based the only addressable element would be myobject[0].

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
unitech
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jun 2008 22:27 Edited at: 6th Jun 2008 22:28