Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Brief window flashes when F5 pressed

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jul 2008 23:55
My operating system is WXP Pro and this is my first try at DB Pro. Each time I try running one of the example programs (e.g. Animation Showcase) using F5 I get a brief flash of what looks like a command line screen (totally black) and I get returned to the DarkBASIC main screen (i.e. the program seems to have been terminated before it had a chance to run). When I use the debug button, the program runs OK.

I have tried adjusting the screen settings (in DB Pro) but this has no effect.

BTW: I will be attempting to teach this stuff at a UK college of FE next September - not a great start.
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Jul 2008 22:50
Try putting WAIT KEY at the end of your program, or other appropriate points. At leastthen you should see the screen before it vanishes, and get an idea of what's going wrong.

BandP College Man
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2008 11:50
Thankyou for the quick reply.

No Joy. I've tried it with the most basic program, i.e.

PRINT "Hello World"
WAIT KEY

When I press F5 or the 'exe' button the editor minimises, a black screen maximises then minimises (and disappears) immediately and then the editor maximises again.

As I said previously, it works ok when run under debug. Could it be WXP somehow not giving control to DBP? I've seen the odd post about directx9.0c as well - it's installed on my PC but not the 'June' version??
Tone Dialer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2008 22:27
Ensure you have the latest DirectX 9.0c installed, you can get it in many places including here...