Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Ants game by SMD3D Interactive

Author
Message
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 04:41 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2008 04:45
Hey everyone.....i thought i would release some of my earlier work from back in the day. Whats the point in making a game if i dont release it.

so here it is:


This game is just like an old game i use to play for the coco 2 aka(color computer 2) called mega bug

I only made a few levels for it but i will release the source and editor for everyone to play around with aswell. Maby some of the code can help beginer programers to see how a little bit of quick ai works.....(its not very good but works and gives a person an idea on how to write it)

I will have the download very shortly....give me one moment to make an installer for it
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 05:01
ok here is the download:

http://www.jeku.com/sheldon/ants/ants.zip

notes:
to use the level editor just open the source file to see what buttons do what.

and when making a new level i suggest closing the editor and restarting it to make the next level.


Any questions just post them
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 12:10
I am currently going to re-write this game into the 20 line challenge.....and as you can see this will be a tuff one to shrink down.

Does anyone know if its possible to do multiple if statements into a single line? if so how?

eg.
if upkey=1 then 'go up':if downkey()=1 then 'go down'

how can you stack multiple if's in one line? If the first if statement is false it will just skip any code left in that line.

also i tried to do this:

if upkey=1 then 'go up' else endif
but that doesnt work either

anythoughts
Homey the Clown
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 17:42
perhaps you could use the AND or OR statements??


not sure if it works but its just a thought.

If at first you dont succeed, call it ver 1.0

Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz processor,4GB Ram,GeForce 8800GTS 512MB
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 17:45
no it doesnt work for what i need to do....see it needs to test a value then jump to somewhere else to process the event. I need to stack these like crazy on one line.
Mr Tank
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 22:02 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2008 22:04
write it like....

if a:b:else:c:endif:if d:e:endif

which is equivalent to
if a
b
else
c
endif

if d
e
endif

which can also be written as

if a then b else c
if d then e

similarly,

if a:if b:c:endif:endif

is equivalent to

if a
if b then c
endif

etc. It's the same as writing it on separate lines, but with colons instead of next line/ return.

I've just finished downloading your thing. Will give feedback in a minute.

edit: to make things totally clear, instead of your code:

if upkey=1 then 'go up':if downkey()=1 then 'go down'

use this:

if upkey=1:'go up':endif:if downkey()=1:'go down':endif

SBSX
[http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&b=8&t=134372]ASTEROID WORLDS[/url]
Mr Tank
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 22:12 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2008 22:12
OK i played it. Runs nicely. Cool animated backdrops. Gameplay seems too fast or hard for me. Can't really see what the enemy ants are doing until it's too late. Seems more luck than judgement. Maybe make the magnifying glass (i guess that's what it is) larger, or gameplay slower or something. Perhaps an easy mode for beginners. Also, a round magnifying glass could be cool.

SBSX
[http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&b=8&t=134372]ASTEROID WORLDS[/url]
tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 23:56
Holy cow I remember this game on the TRS-80... didn't remember the name. But yeah it was like pac-man with a magnifying glass. When you got caught it would skip to a screen with two animated bugs with a digitized voice that said "We gotcha!". That might not seem like much now, but that voice was going through a PC speaker type setup so it was cool.

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Homey the Clown
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Aug 2008 03:04
perhaps you could check out the 20 line challenge and see how other people managed to put multiple if then statements in one line.

If at first you dont succeed, call it ver 1.0

Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz processor,4GB Ram,GeForce 8800GTS 512MB
TheComet
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 23rd Aug 2008 12:31 Edited at: 23rd Aug 2008 12:31
This will work:



EDIT: Woops, someone already answered...

Suicide is away of telling God, You can’t fire me I quit !!!!!
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 26th Aug 2008 03:13
ah thanks.....im going to compress ...make changes and fit this into 20 lines

And ya if ya look at the source code there is also a cheat while playing that you can enter in for more men 'megabug' lol

Anyways i will draw more levels and enter this into the 20 line challenge.

Also a warning to those that want to make levels for it. The level editor is a little unstable....

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-30 02:20:24
Your offset time is: 2024-09-30 02:20:24