Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 3d studio max and dark basic pro

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello,

I have 3ds max 9 and 3ds max 2008. I've also got installed the latest upgrade for dark basic pro.

Is it possible to create models and animations using these versions of 3d studio max that can be utilized in dark basic programs?

I'm pretty new to this -- I've heard mention of a few plug-ins but I'm lost on this issue.

If you have an answer for me, please let me know which version of 3ds max is applicable.

Also, if it can't read max files - what is the best 3d modeling software that IS compatible with dark basic pro?

Thanks much!
Marc

mdholman69@yahoo.com
BlobVanDam
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Aug 2008 21:04 Edited at: 23rd Aug 2008 21:05
There is no "best" 3D modelling package for DB Pro. It's a matter of personal preference, and cost. And of course if you've been using 3DS Max long enough to legitimately own 2 seperate versions, I doubt you'd want to use another modelling program you're unfamiliar with.

I use KW X-port
http://kwxport.sourceforge.net/
You can get it for either of those versions of 3DS Max. It works very well, especially for objects with bones/vertex weights. The only problem I've had with it is that the current version has a bug when you export with the Y Axis as up it occasionally messes up the normals. But you can get around that by exporting with that option off, then just rotate it and fix the object pivot in DB Pro.
Also I can't get it to export 2 UV channels even though the exporter has an option for it.