Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Is DB pro for me?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2008 15:19
Hello every one, hope you are all well.

I have had a look at this site after a recommendation and must admit the DBPro does sound quiet good. I like it that it appears that a total beginer can pick this up and start making a game but you can also do more advance stuff via the coding, unless I have miss interoperated this!

Now I have basic knowledge in programming, some VB and some C/C++ but only very basic stuff. I am eager to learn.

I want to create a 2d/isometric game that looks along the lines of Legend Of Mir or Diablo 2 or simular ( first screen shot is not legend of mir but a rip of it) , if you have not heard of this game here are some links to what the game looks like

http://www.online-station.net/_news/..._Online_02.jpg

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/3808/images42rb2.jpg

http://picnic.ciao.com/uk/2524741.jpg

That is the sort of game I am looking to try and create, the same sort of graphics. Also another important thing for me, I want to create the game like a "chess" board, by this I mean if I am in a singular square, I want to only be able to move to one of 8 squares around me.

Is this possible with this software?

Say from scratch... What do I actually need apart from DBPro? As ideally I want to create my own graphics and not use stuff.

Also I want to make it a MMORPG, is this also possible with the software? What about royaltys I must admit I could not find something on royaltys if a game gets published although today I am having a stupid day.

Sorry if some of these questions have been asked/answered.

Regards,
Thor.
calcyman
Years of Service
User Offline