Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New, need to know some things

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I know my title is vague, and yes I'm new here, but some questions come to mind...

My friend got me a copy of 3D Studio Max 8, which is really easy for me to use, even though I'm not too good at it. I found Blender which can import certain models and export as .X. Which modeling program is recommended for terrain, and which for making characters, objects, etc.

I have DeleD though haven't tried it yet. 3D Studio Max 8, can use it ok-ish..also have Maplet, made for another game, but it's 'good' for indoor things like dungeons..meh, not as good as others..

My game is basically gonna be a "Earth is gone, space stations, ships, colonize a planet, build armors and fleets, conquer galaxy." Kinda like Masters of Orion 2, but 3D, interactive on a better basis..

Anyone think they can answer some questions? =o
calcyman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Sep 2008 08:48
For terrain I would recommend you use the Advanced Terrain plugin that comes with the recent versions of DBPro. For making anything else, you could either use a 3D modeller or a CAD package.

Good luck,
Calcyman

The optomist's right, The pessimist's right.
Panzer
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey, thanks for the help

Any other options besides the plugin? I only have one copy, really don't have the money to buy more copies, but there's more than one of us working on the terrain(he decided to join in, and I don't wanna break any rules )...