Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Browser Detection

Author
Message
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 29th Jul 2003 19:22
.. oki well i'm learning howto grab what version of the browser as i'm kinda getting aware that some browsers need different code for things.

but i've come across a weird problem, or well just something weird.
why does it pass back this as my brower info?

navigator.appCodeName = Mozilla
navigator.appName = Microsoft Internet Explorer
navigator.appVersion = 4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
navigator.userAgent = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
navigator.platform = Win32

i mean i thought Mozilla was a different internet browser entirely
and this is my current browser version 6.0.2600.0000.xpclnt_qfe.021108-2107

so hmm... just wondering why these report things different to what i'd expect them to.
http://ravenstudios.puffinteractive.com/personal/rslogo.gif[/img]
Rob K
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Jul 2003 20:33
Mozilla is a seperate browser, but it lies to prevent websites from blocking access to its users (many websites won't allow the browser in if MSIE isn't in the useragent string)

indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 29th Jul 2003 21:10
using php you can write a clarification script by noticing mozillas always have a /then a number to indicate if its 4.7 or 6.0.

Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 29th Jul 2003 22:22
Yup. I'm using Opera but it's identified as IE 6.0. No detecting sites can tell.

--Mouse

Famous Fighting Furball
Shock
AGK Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Jul 2003 22:52
I thought *most* browser's where actually based upon mozilla's code, or used large parts of mozilla's code for the browser?.

Im probably wrong lol.

...::::ShockForge::::...
Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 00:00
Netscape does. Not any others that I can think of. Opera and IE are certainly their own code.

Bossy comment that most people hate: It's browsers not browser's

--Mouse

Famous Fighting Furball
Eddie Gordo
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2003
Location: Ohio - USA
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 00:48
Yeah for a while Mozilla and AOL were together so Mozilla is just an open source Netscape...

Visual Programming Studio ORANGE
Replacement IDE for Dark Basic Professional...
(Will Be Availeable When This is Removed)
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 06:31
sorry mouse your incorrect there, unless Ive just invented a line in php thats incorrect, it works here anyway

part of my php browser detection script


elseif (strstr($HTTP_USER_AGENT, 'Opera')) $CurrentBrowser = "Opera";

Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 08:20
Opera=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Opera") != -1) ? true : false;

and thats tha java of it
it just seemed weird to me that IE was comming back with the CodeName Mozilla and was returning v4.0 as the major one (when i would've though 4.3 would've been prefered) then in brackets a minor version.
just kinda confusing is all.

empty
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: 3 boats down from the candy
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 18:32
In Opera you can change the browser's identity. You can choose between Opera, various Mozilla Versions and IE 6.0. (File -> Quick Preferences)

I awoke in a fever. The bedclothes were all soaked in sweat.
She said "You've been having a nightmare and it's not over yet"
Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 30th Jul 2003 18:59
indi, my brower dosen't broadcast as Opera, so your script can't tell. You can choose what to identify as.

And no, Mozilla is much more than an open-source netscape, it's faster and less clunky

--Mouse

Famous Fighting Furball
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 06:21
mouse I bet whatever it spits out that its detectable

Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 07:00
Hmmm, okay .

You could make a page to check it, and we could see .

Personally, I think that if Opera can trick Microsoft's site into thinking I'm using IE 6, it's pretty undetectable.

--Mouse

Famous Fighting Furball
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 08:41
SERVERCALL$ : Browser and Operating system : Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98) Opera 7.11 [en]

heh need i say more?

indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 08:50
mouse try this site

www.lunarpixel.com/php_dev/browser.php

8truths
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 09:13
Mouse -- AMEN! Mozilla, ah . . .

Looking forward to Mo's Firebird 1.0. Ah . . .

Opera is pretty good, though.

[sung, to the tune of "Blowin' in the Wind"] How many browsers . . . must a man browse on . . . before you can browse the net secure? [/sung]

We can't stop here! This is bat country!
empty
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: 3 boats down from the candy
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 15:04
Good trick, indi.

I awoke in a fever. The bedclothes were all soaked in sweat.
She said "You've been having a nightmare and it's not over yet"
Shadow Robert
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 15:15
indi it returns the same info as the javascript version
people who change thier browers to fool should know there are ways around it no matter what.



Mozilla=(document.getElementById) ? true : false;
iExplorer=(navigator.appVersion.indexOf("MSIE") != -1) ? true : false;
NetScape6=(navigator.vendor == ("Netscape6") != -1) ? true : false;
NetScapeOther=(document.layers) ? true : false;
Opera=(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Opera") != -1) ? true : false;


thats the javascript you'd need for each one... you just check particular elements, not matter what you set your broswer to they don't change.

indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 16:20
heh, it works and it works very well regardless of client side issues.
In order to detect it tho you have to make it a priority before detecting mozilla and explorer browsers.

Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 1st Aug 2003 18:19
Pretty good stuff indi. I stand corrected .

--Mouse

Famous Fighting Furball
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 2nd Aug 2003 05:45
no worries, perhaps next time have a little more faith

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-20 08:25:35
Your offset time is: 2024-09-20 08:25:35