Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / The Community Challenge - Ply's Mod

Author
Message
meteorite
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: The Capital Wasteland
Posted: 12th Dec 2008 00:46 Edited at: 12th Dec 2008 01:14
I'm sure some people have been following Ply's mod lately, I certainly have. With new scripting commands added to Ply's Mod, it is now possible to create a simple turret effect (though creation may not prove simple). This Community Challenge is a new way for people to familiarize themselves with some of Ply's Mod features, and is a good way to learn some FPI and get practice in.

Here is one idea on how we could make the turret:
When used, the turret temporarily disappears and gives the player a weapon, then removes it and reappears when done

Anyone should feel free to join, even the expert scripter. Anyone should feel free to give suggestions on how to fix bugs, or even a completely different way to go about this. As a start, I will provide the first 2 states:




Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 12th Dec 2008 06:18
In recent months I have become very dense.

What does the turret itself supposed to do? What is the turret? The purpose of the turret? I understand what you are doing with the script but it doesn't really tell me what the turret is.



__________________________________________________________
Make life a little easier and use FPI Editpad for your sctripting needs.
We're a proud sponsor of PlyMod 1.07 which includes airmod 0.6.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 12th Dec 2008 06:23
I feel so bad... I can't even remember all the commands I've added.


One thing I see that may be a problem is FORCING the player to use the weapon they've been given.

Here's a way we may be able to deal with that:
- Autoswap for weapons is a must. That is, the engine MUST force the new weapon into the player's hands.
- Have the script constantly check what weapon(s) the player is using. When the player ISN'T using the turret, have it remove the weapon from their inventory and jump back to state 1.


Another problem that may be encountered is if the player is dual-wielding.

We don't want the player to be using anything BUT the turret. So we'll have to think of some way to keep them from potentially dual-wielding while using the turret.

This is a long shot and may over-complicate the script, but we may be able to remove all of the player's weapons while they're using the turret. When the player gets "off" the turret, give them all of their weapons back.


There's my two cents at this point.

I really hope more people come to join in, this seems like it could be fun!


The one and only,


Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 12th Dec 2008 06:25
Heh, Flatlander posted while I was typing.


A turret is essentially a hard-mounted weapon. That is, it's a weapon that cannot be brought WITH the player since it's either way too heavy or it's welded to the ground/vehicle.

So, with that in mind, what we want to do is let the player USE the turret but not take it anywhere. In order to leave, the player must leave the turret behind.


The one and only,


Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 13:42 Edited at: 13th Dec 2008 13:50
Just to continue to exercise by brain and thinking process, I will think about this from time to time. In the meantime, for those of you who are using FPI EditPad, here are some tips.

When an FPI document is open (either new or if editing) you can click the right mouse key to view command categories either for conditions or actions. See images below:



After clicking the mouse button you will get a list of categories:

You will see three that should be useful for this project: Camera, Player and Weapons.



The following two images show three possible actions in the player action commands that might be useful:





Remember, you can move the mouse cursor over a command to show the short definition of the command as shown below.




Hope this helps some.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
meteorite
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: The Capital Wasteland
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 13:50
Well Ply, as a possible solution to that, we could make the turret a character holding a gun, and control it


Crusader2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 19:40 Edited at: 13th Dec 2008 19:43
The only thing being, how will the player be able to get his guns back? This will be a cool script when it's done. I'll put my brain behind this task too. Some people say I'm pretty smart. This might even bost the ammount of Ply's Mod users.

If A=B and B=C, are people still stupid?
-Crusader2
USE PLY'S MOD!
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 21:01
Quote: "The only thing being, how will the player be able to get his guns back? "


Perhaps one of these commands would do it? Or in conjunction with each other? (see images below)








__________________________________________________________
Make life a little easier and use FPI Editpad for your sctripting needs.
We're a proud sponsor of PlyMod 1.07 which includes airmod 0.6.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Crusader2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 21:46
The only problem being remembering what weapons the player had at the time. Maybe adding it, switching to it, and, when the player left the turrett, getting rid of it.

If A=B and B=C, are people still stupid?
-Crusader2
USE PLY'S MOD!
meteorite
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: The Capital Wasteland
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 22:59
The problem is yo would be able to switch out


Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 06:43
Quote: "The only problem being remembering what weapons the player had at the time"


Use variable as a switch. Have a variable for each weapon. When player changes a weapon, set all weapon variables to zero and then set the current weapon variable to one. When change to turret get rid of the weapon that has the variable one. When switch from turret check which weapon variable is one and then switch to that weapon.

Where will the script be running? With an invisible dynamic immobile entity within the level.

Just a thought.

Quote: "The problem is yo would be able to switch out"


Meteorite. Not sure what you mean?


__________________________________________________________
Make life a little easier and use FPI Editpad for your sctripting needs.
We're a proud sponsor of PlyMod 1.07 which includes airmod 0.6.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 11:21
Nice screenshots, FL, those tips will certainly help to find any commands we may need.


Quote: "With an invisible dynamic immobile entity within the level. "


A triggerzone usually works best for me when I need to use those.


Here are my thoughts:

I like the idea of removing all of the player's weapons to keep them from swapping out and dual-wielding. All we need to remember is to keep the tuuret weapon non-dual-wieldable.

Flatlander had a good idea with setting variables to keep a list of the weapons the player had. This is really going to be game specific, though.

We can keep taht list updated at all times by using the "WEAPININV" command and having the list be constantly reset and repopulated in a script. Once the player is on the turret, though, the list will need to stop updating and remain how it is so we can use it after the player hops off.

With that in mind, I think the turret should do the following:
- Remove all of the player's weapons
- Give the player the turret weapon (Which would ideally have unlimited ammo, or an ammo pool set up that can be changed as needed)
- Check for when the player stops holding the turret (Unequips it)
- When the player doesn't have the turret in hand, remove it from tehir inventory and repopulate their weapon inventory using the list we have from the other script.


That should just about do it.

Of course, that is all assuming the turret weapon is auto-swapped when it's given to the player.



The one and only,


meteorite
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: The Capital Wasteland
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 14:19
Pretty much, this is gonna be a long script isnt it Ply


*slap!*
Quiet yourself, think before posting, and maybe you won't be as ignorant as you seem.
Crusader2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 20:23
It would be very short if we had a command to force a player to keep a weapon equipped.

If A=B and B=C, are people still stupid?
-Crusader2
USE PLY'S MOD!
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 23:17
Mmmmm, not terribly long. I don't expect it to get over 100 lines, really.


The one and only,


meteorite
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: The Capital Wasteland
Posted: 15th Dec 2008 00:00
o btw fl i meant that the play will always be able to scroll through weapons, you need to get rid of all of them


*slap!*
Quiet yourself, think before posting, and maybe you won't be as ignorant as you seem.
Crusader2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Posted: 15th Dec 2008 00:11 Edited at: 15th Dec 2008 00:18
I'll look for a turrett entiety, but it will probably be un-textured and un-animated, so somebody will have to do the rest.

[Edit]What kind of turrett are we looking for? I've found several free ones on Turbosquid. One that I particurally like is a mounted gattling gun turrett that is textured but un-animated.

http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/chain-gatling-gun-3ds/388080
It also seems pretty low poly, and with a little work on the texture, it would look pretty good!

I like the idea of assigning each weapon a variable, but that would have to be done in the setuplevel.fpi file, right? It would be game spicific, but I suspose that it could be included that they need to modify the script.[/Edit]

If A=B and B=C, are people still stupid?
-Crusader2
USE PLY'S MOD!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 16:45:31
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 16:45:31