Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Mouse Click and the IF statement - Beginner!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,
A few years a go i bought DarkBASIC pro and the book "Beginners's Guide to DarkBASIC Game programming", although i never opened it 'till now.

Im up to chapter 6, about IF statements. This is my fist exposure to the IF statement as i am an absolute programming beginner.

The first program in the chapter is simply supposed to return printed text when either the right or left mouse button has been clicked. The source code, as it appears in the book is:

This program simply flashes a black screen, i assume because the IF statement is not working. I looked around in the DarkBASIC pro help file and found a list of commands, and one of them was MouseClick, so i tried replacing the word MouseButton with MouseClick, but still no joy.

I think the book is mainly written for DarkBASIC and this may be one of the differences in DarkBASIC pro, any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,
Siddy.
Siddy
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, well while i was waiting for this thread to be cleared by the mods, i tried everything under the sun to get it working, and i did!

Here is what ive come up with:

From what i can tell, DarkBasic used "MouseButton = 1" and DarkBasic Pro uses "MouseClick() = 1" (for left click).
I added the Do...Loop so the screen doesnt close and you can see it works!

!!!BUT!!!

I have a new problem, the next example doesnt work for me either, i have looked and i cant find any obvious things i can change.

The problem is, the program should bounce the circle off the screen walls, but it doesnt. Any help!!!???
BlobVanDam
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Dec 2008 13:22