Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Input Question -PLEASE HELP-

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi. I'm not good at programming yet. And I want to write a simple input program that when I write a name in the input then search results are printed. But I'm stuck on the Input Command.What code is it that prints something when a certain word is typed in.

Example:

Input "typed word" Print Search results

Please help out and put in in that format. And type typed work where I need to type the word and how to print things if it is entered.

Thank You!

Zab Productions Game and Program Company.
puppyofkosh
Years of Service
User Offline
I believe there is an index of commands somewhere but it should be something like "INPUT variablename"
May0naise
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jan 2009 02:47 Edited at: 14th Jan 2009 03:00
I'd be glad to take a shot at this =)

First, say you want to ask something like..

If you don't already know, Print is used to print text on the screen, PRINT "What you want goes here in quotes"

-If you want to have someone input something then:

This basically is, Input-Shows you want someone to type a word/number/phase...
You can print things just like a print statement in the quotes
The Variable means your storing something in it, if its a number, you can just use something like Var, or Num, but if you want to use any letters you need to put an $ after the word. the $ tells DarkBasic that the Variable is a string. Strings store letters. So you would type something like Search$, or Var$.

What if i want DB to do something if someone types what i want them to say?