Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New To The Boards

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Greetings Everyone,

Not sure if this is the right board to post in but here it goes. I'm new to the boards and figured I'd say hi. I am currently a full time student at Westwood College Online working on my BA in video game art and design. I was wondering if there was a general discussion area where I can go to discuss issues when it comes to the artistic side of game creation or just ask for general advice. From what I've seen the boards are broken down by which programs you're wanting information on and a specific style of game creation.

So far my experiences have been the game editor from yoyogames.com and playing around with Unreal Editor. So I'm still very new to this when it comes to the electronic applications I will need to utilize. I've been eyeballing DarkBASIC for some time now but the thing that scares me is the fact that it looks like a very powerful tool when it comes to game creation and I have no knowledge of code. Does the entire program run on drag and click or will I need to know some basic code? If I do need to know code where can I go for some really good references.

Anyway, thank you for your time.
Bursar
Years of Service
User Offline
There's no click and drag. It's all programming. Give the demo a go and see how you get on with it.

As to discussing art styles, there are 2D and 3D forums here, so you can discuss stuff (or show off your latest creations) in there.
AndrewT
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Mar 2009 22:34
Quote: "Does the entire program run on drag and click or will I need to know some basic code?"