Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Creating a room for a sprite to move thro in 2d

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,

Im very new to this - so apologies in advance!

I need a program where a sprite moves thro a room from one door to another. At the minute I just want the sprite to go directly between the doors (a straight line!!) but in the future there will be more than one sprite, and based on behaviour rules, they should enter the room, move around, and leave at different times/rates.

I have the walls, and the doors (gaps) set up, and can have a sprite sat where i want it (only as an image). however, when i change the image to a sprite, it does not appear where i want it, tho i can get it to move a little.

im very confused, and have tried using many tutorials on the forum, but nothing seems to be shifting - i just end up with the walls, and a sprite, but no movement at all.

any help would be appreciated guys...here's my code...

LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Mar 2009 17:58
I have some questions for you:
1. Are you trying to make a top-down game and is it supposed to be through a maze? You have placed your objects at different Z depths and I don't know what it is that you are trying to do.
2. Is the sprite for a player, NPC or what? Why use a sprite at all? Why not use an object? You have created objects, not sprites, and set them up for collision.