Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / Shatterpoint: Blood Dawn, new pics and info

Author
Message
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 15:39 Edited at: 28th Mar 2009 16:00
It's been about four weeks and I have had time to fix Shatterpoint. You called for moodier lighting, well, check out the screenshot! And some of the levels you didnt like have been replaced with better, faster, more action packed levels. As soon as I implement the music and voices, i'll post a demo.

Rogue
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 15:42 Edited at: 26th Sep 2009 11:23
Ive replaced this level

Ultimate awesomeness is within my mortal grasp!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 15:44 Edited at: 1st Nov 2009 01:54
With this level

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 15:47 Edited at: 1st Nov 2009 01:58
And I've cut down on stock media, firma rocks! (ignore the white)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 15:57 Edited at: 26th Sep 2009 11:27
And I retexture and normalmap just about everything!

Ultimate awesomeness is within my mortal grasp!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 16:28
Of course I never want places to look the same, so I add a lot of variety to the enviroment.

Rogue
bobochobo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2008
Location: My house, in the middle of my street
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 19:16
Nice work, looks like its shaping up to be quite a nice game :p.

darimc
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 21:07
Looking a lot better, but still a little bland. Add some more entities.

Butt monkey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 26th Mar 2009 23:25
Quote: "It's been about four months and I have had time to fix Shatterpoint."


You mean 4 weeks

The screens look good. I like the outdoor scenes (last screen). And I'm assuming you've fixed your frame rate too. If so then that's quite impressive. You'll have to tell us how you get smooth, fast gameplay on those large outdoor areas.
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Mar 2009 01:00 Edited at: 6th Apr 2009 15:25
Anyway, you asked about the level's speed. 18 fps is good for me, it'll be even better for you as I assume none of you have a single 1.4 GHZ processor like I do. I definitely know that unlike people have told me, more than three enemies can operate in one scene buuuuut that dropped my fps to 4. So I stopped doing that. Also, Dynamic entities can handle some shaders that static entities can't, but with no shadow, I realized it's not worth it. So Iv'e cut down but, I still use them sparingly. I'm testing right now so I'll send the latest screenys right over in a minute.

Rogue
darimc
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: 27th Mar 2009 01:14
Quote: "Yes I meant to say that,buuuuuuuuuuuuuuut once It's posted, it's posted. Anyway, you asked about the level's speed. 18 fps is good for me, it'll be even better for you as I assume none of you have a single 1.4 GHZ processor like I do. I defidently know that unlike people have told me, more than three enemies can operate in one scene buuuuut that dropped my fps to 4. So I stopped doing that. Also, Dynamic entities can handle some shaders that static entities can't, but with no shadow, I realized it's not worth it. So Iv'e cut down but, I still use them sparingly. I'm testing right now so I'll send the latest screenys right over in a minute.
"
Sounds like your improving a lot, thanks for taking our advice. But, you can click the edit button on your posts.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th Mar 2009 16:45 Edited at: 30th Mar 2009 22:53
I was wondering if you guys would like to hear a demo of my soundtrack. It's heavily cut and cornified so even the most un-smart of people wouldn't want to pirate it. It is still enjoyable. It's in ogg so if you cant open it, get winamp or irfanview. Oh and by the way it's not techno, so youre in for a real treat! Please post any questions or comments

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Mar 2009 23:31
Heres the latest pic of butt monkey's favorite level.......with the omegamod (unofficial may be changed)

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Apr 2009 16:28 Edited at: 6th Apr 2009 19:56
I just need to know, How do u insert pictures into your posts? Does it require some scripting, or do u just type the file path? Oh, and it's k if u guys say stuff about my music, because I don't think anyone has even listened to it yet! Anyhow, I'll start to leak the story with an introduction to your character. you play as one of the few elite commandos of the UWAF(united world allied forces) during the events covering the end of the war and the last operation before the man made apocalypse, operation Blood Dawn. More info will be specified later. Screenshot of character below.

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Apr 2009 19:50 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 15:08
The Iron Martyrs are a doomsday cult that believes heaven is a new, rebuilt earth, created by a man made armegeddon and only the cult will survive it. The UWAF was started as a union of the new allied countries to counter this move. With the capture of an unexpected gold mine in the Alps, the Iron Martyrs became rich and began to build superweapons as well as a robotic army. More info will be specified later.

Rogue
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Apr 2009 16:01
Is anyone ever going to answer my question!!!!? Look, I don't know why I'm even on here if people are going to ignore me.

Rogue
Dr Parsnips
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2007
Location: London
Posted: 7th Apr 2009 20:26
Quote: "Is anyone ever going to answer my question!!!!? Look, I don't know why I'm even on here if people are going to ignore me."


Ok, I will try an answer. You need to upload to a photo site like photobucket and then it will give you a IMG link. You can then insert the link on a post here and it will show you the image

Example:
The link should look like this.

[IMG]http:link.fakesite.com[/IMG]

Hope that helps.

Anyway now onto your game. It looks good. The problem with this forum is it takes a lot for people to notice and comment on your game. You just need to be patient and keep updating it! Its looking really good.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Apr 2009 01:57 Edited at: 14th Apr 2009 03:35
Thank u parsnips. This is X9........ N-E Way, once you find the sonic storm, you'll want to ditch the ol' shotgun. Screeny below, dont go crazy. questions or comments are welcome.

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 04:16 Edited at: 14th Apr 2009 23:55
i bet u no 1 has looked at my screenshots, or listened to the music. Its been 5 days, no responses, and nothing about the fact that I'm using crazy awesome X10 media! NEway, The story, the martyr robotic army, coming in many shapes and sizes, is run by the alpha 3 AI, possibly the most intelligent AI in the world. you are the first to see thier power at the start of operation blood dawn, an attack on south America ultimately resulting with the pushing foward in to southern US borders. This is how the game starts, and you are in Texas, on the front line!

Rogue
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th Apr 2009 18:31
Hello? anyone there? I need to know if my game is cool or not because right now, I have two things in my mind, either my game sucks and people are straying away from it. oooooooooooooor its really good and people feel no need to post suggestions on the page. PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ respond!

Rogue
Juzi
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2007
Location: Finland
Posted: 16th Apr 2009 19:50
Haha, familiar feeling 2 Rogues. This ignoring has happened to me also and that's always annoying

About those screenshots: I only opened the latest one because they load so slowly (.PNG ). It really doesn't show much except really nice gun. Make all of your screenshots .jpg and I'm pretty sure more people will comment.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th Apr 2009 00:52
Yaaaaaa man but what about the music? Soon I'll be making a post for downloads of custom Shatterpoint segments. That screenshot is not from the game. It's just there to show off the X10 gun. Thnx 4 posting and I'll remember the jpg thing. I'll be sure to look at your game and post questions, comments, and advice!

Rogue
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2009 20:51 Edited at: 27th Apr 2009 20:52
Shatterpoint is simply too hard to do at my current schedule, so, I hate to say it, but I have to make level revisions and cut some of the levels out that do not contribute too much to the storyline. The game will be released in three chapters, and soon. The three chapters will be my three favorites, the Grand Canyon, the Vortex, and the Floodgate. I need to take a break form the forums to do extensive work on the Grand Canyon Levels. Until next time!

Rogue
Dr Parsnips
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2007
Location: London
Posted: 28th Apr 2009 02:00
Looking good man! Storyline sounds interesting.

On the whole no responses thing, i would show a lot more screen shots for people to look at and comment on. Also i have noticed that most people don't like to download loads of stuff so i would not be too disheartened if people to comment about it.

Keep at it dude it looks really good!

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2009 16:37
After 1 week of extensive work on the Vortex, I think I am ready to make my comeback with a few screenies from the 2 new levels. I would love it if you guys post on here!

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2009 16:38 Edited at: 6th May 2009 16:40
Here is the screen shot from the last Vortex level. Please post.

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dr Parsnips
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2007
Location: London
Posted: 6th May 2009 19:39
Loving the new screens! the lighting is great! more screens!

My one comment would be that the ambient lighting should be lowered.

Juzi
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2007
Location: Finland
Posted: 7th May 2009 08:37
Looking really nice! I don't like the second screenshot's blocky character though but that isn't your fault I guess.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 15:19
Wow guys! Didn't think you would like it that much! Juzi, I am using a special shader which makes The robot pulsating invisible, but it looks boxy because the shader does not request a normalmap. Heres another screenshot.

Rogue

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th May 2009 21:27
I hope to get some posts for this screenshot. Though it is not the most spectacular thing ever seen, it is enough to show the custom texture work I've done. This is season 1 part 3 of the grand canyon. I should be getting some nice new models from the count (the 3rd Rogue) to make the level more spectacular. ( he's new to the forum. let him go if he makes a mistake)

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
beachard5
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2009 00:22
you are getting 9 FPS thats really bad. the game looks nice what mod are you using if you are using any. the only bad thing is the 9 fps

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2009 00:30
I had other programs running at the time, I am not using any mod, only coz's shaders (thanks coz) aside from the background tasks, my comp sux (1.4 GHZ CPU) but right now i'm talking 2 u through a sweet Gateway fx at Best Buy (which I hope to buy ) by for now

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 02:10
For the few people who visit this post, look at these screens and tell me what u see.

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 02:11
screen 2

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 02:12 Edited at: 19th May 2009 02:13
screen 3

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 02:13 Edited at: 19th May 2009 02:14
screen 4 ( ignore the white) please post.

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 03:22
Er, uh, Is anyone going to look at this?

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
beachard5
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 04:03
no one is looking at them because your not really showing us anything like a box with a shadow wow thats cool you just showing use one entity with barly anything in the back round so theres nothing to look at and see its like your showcasing what FPSC can do then showing us your game.

Show us more. like a big part of the level or somthing not just a couple of things. give us somthing that when we look at we say wow your thats really cool. just some advice

Apple Slicer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2008
Location: Oregon, in the rain...
Posted: 19th May 2009 04:26 Edited at: 19th May 2009 04:26
Ooh. What effect is on the yellow generators?


EDIT: Just noticed. Bloom mod?

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 15:23
That's not the point! Have u noticed the fact that I am holding the barrel Which happens to cast a dynamic shadow!!!!!!! I'll tell you how to do it without any mod. In setup.ini and buildsetup.ini, there is a line by the lines about shaders that says "dynamicshadow= 0" change that to 1 and u will get beautiful, sharp, high quality shadows. ( shown above) Now u see wai I post pointless pictures!

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
Aaagreen
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2007
Location: City 17
Posted: 19th May 2009 15:32
That effect is nothing new. However no-one uses it because it brings a new set of graphical bugs to your games.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 15:57
Huh? It looks perfectly fine.

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
Apple Slicer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2008
Location: Oregon, in the rain...
Posted: 19th May 2009 17:18
Dynamic shadows = Fail for me.

They cast really weird anomalies on the actual entity itself.

2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2009 17:37
Wow. Too bad. It relatively works for me, as in, some entities make perfect shadows, but some, you have to flip upside down in game for them to work properly.

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
Butt monkey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 19th May 2009 20:13
A possible reason why people don't comment is because you post PNGs which take an age to load up and sometimes time out. Post jpegs if you want more comments.
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 01:34
Check out the latest pic of level 1!

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
2 Rogues
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 18:02
Ummmmmmmm did anyone even look at this?

Oh! He's soooooooooo foreign!
Juzi
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2007
Location: Finland
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 18:10
Looks pretty sick. Is that some kind of HDR or bloom you're having there? Also, could you post your screenshots in .jpg because they'll load faster than .png.

Dr Parsnips
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2007
Location: London
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 18:11
Thats a really good screenshot bro! Looks so much better than your other ones!

Butt monkey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 19:34
I really don't like the bloom. It is eye-hurting. You skybox seems to go from blue with clouds to pure white? I also can't honestly tell if that is sand or water infront of the player. Needs some work.

And I feel like I'm repeating myself Please post Jpegs from now on, you will get more comments.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-22 04:55:58
Your offset time is: 2024-02-22 04:55:58