Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Text adventure questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Firstly I feel I should point out that I'm not a complete newcomer to programming however my background has been hardware programming as part of my Electronics degree, for example I am currently building a digital spirit level from a micro controller, accelerometer and lcd screen. I have some experience in BASIC, C++ and Assembler so I know all the basic commands needed to do things. What I don't have is the knowledge of how to form said commands in to a game.

As the title suggests I am currently looking at producing a simple text adventure as it seems to be the logical step forward from variations of the old 'hello world" programs and despite reading the tutorials provided I've not been able to get anything working without simply copy/pasting other peoples code. Which I of course can't decipher because it's not been annotated. bmaczero's tutorial has helped me understand how a text adventure would be laid out and will be of great assistance when I finally design something but didn't help me produce code. As for pluto's tutorial I found it hard to follow as the various updates were tacked on at the end and it seems (to me at least) to get more and more disjointed as time goes by.

Is anyone aware of any other tutorials that could help me? I've not been able to find any apart from the occasional link to a site that hasn't existed for years.

Any help would be very appreciated as I am completely stuck at the moment.
Gil Galvanti
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 20:28 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 20:28