Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / 2d (kinda) shooter

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Aug 2003 08:22 Edited at: 14th Aug 2003 08:36
hey all,
I am a newb and im trying to make a classic shoot-em-up game with planes. While the vehicles are 3d, the background will be 2d. so far ive been coming along pretty well but i have a few questions.

1) What is a good method for making (fireing) multiple bullets at the same time or in rapid succesion(so far ive only been able to make 1 shoot at a time).

2) How do i get a (simple) scrolling background with texture

3) (Optional) Can some1 briefly describe simple enemy AI/logic that would work with this type of game

thx

TheAbomb12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Aug 2003 09:46
damn now i cant get my bounderies to work right (it dos a wierd teleport)

oh yeah, tried to make a matrix background but didnt work.

can some1 look at my code and give suggestions ?
thx

DivW
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Aug 2003 02:24
I don't know very much since i'm a newbie myself. But it seems like everyone's trying to put 3D graphics into their games, when it might be easier to just use sprites. I've been mucking around with 3D graphics for a week now, and when i switched to sprites it was so much easier. The thing that makes it easiest is that everything's got only 2 dimensions (obviously) so you don't have to worry about x,y,z, positioning-only x and y. Which actually makes a huge difference. I might be worth trying complete 2D instead of a 2D-3D Hyrid. But i'm just a newb, so my opinion probably doesn't count.
-DivW

Your soul...it tastes like chicken
TheAbomb12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Aug 2003 04:33