Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Adding jumping and Gravity...

Author
Message
Jaydon52
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2009 04:21
Hi Everyone,

I am having some trouble adding jumping and gravity to the game i am making. I am using RUCCUS's sliding collision script(with sparky's dll), I have a cube and a map (.x)

Collisions work okay but i need gravity and jumping. I have tried some ideas given on other posts but none of them seem to work with what I have.

I have attached the map and here what i have so far:


If someone has any ideas on a way to add jumping and/or gravity that would be a big help.

Also, I had to make the cube quite small because when i try to make the map larger using the scale object command, collisions stop working. Any ideas on that would be much appreciated.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Erk
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2009 06:41 Edited at: 27th May 2009 07:06
From my various Java games, I have one implementation.



Conceptually, that'll work perfectly without any overbearing physics libraries.
Tweak as needed. Ask if you need help!
bobbel
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2009
Location: In my DBPro case xD
Posted: 27th May 2009 08:33
thats a good example, but one tip: if the user is falling really fast and you jump, he's not gonna jump up. so you might want (if you want the ability to jump in mid-air) to change this
Momentum = Momentum + JUMP_STRENGTH
to this
MOMENTUM = JUMP_STRENGTH

Jaydon52
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2009 11:02
Erk, I need HELP!

I've got no idea how to add this in.
I tried, but failed hopelessly. Any more info on how to add this in would be great.

Thanks also to bobbel for your input!
Jaydon52
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 03:14
Anyone else have any ideas???
the destroyer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2009 01:18
yes, place this in the main loop


hope it helps

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-28 06:24:21
Your offset time is: 2024-09-28 06:24:21