Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / cover script troubles

Author
Message
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 31st May 2009 07:42
I UBER SHORTENED that cover script.

so far: he shoots you when you get in range of him
he walks toward the cover

he wont: stop at the box

how do i fix this? he walks up to the box, than crouches and keeps moving foreward

other than that, it's a good cover script. i will release it with a tutorial of how to have multiple enemies too

please help me with this.
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 31st May 2009 20:27
anyone know how to help?
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 00:31
I'm just barking in the dark here, but I'm guessing your problem might be because the script doesn't exist?

How about posting the script up here for us to look at. It's a little difficult to guess at what the problem is.


The one and only,


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 01:00
ok

:state=0,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr
:state=0,plrdistfurther=150:state=1
:state=1,plrdistfurther=150:rotateto=box1,settarget,movetotarget,animate=32,state=2
:state=1,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr
:state=2,plrdistfurther=150:animate=31
:state=2,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr.

he chrouch walks to the box, goes to the wrong side (my side) and the crouch slides in the same direction for ever. i tried a freeze command but that didnt work, he didnt move at all
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 03:48
I plan to make a very simple shoot script to go with that. one where he just strafes out of cover and fires until you back away.

if the cover script ever gets fixed, I'll add a tutorial for new fpsc user on how to make multiple enemies take cover behind multiple boxes
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 04:43
*UPDATE:

the enemy shoot script is done. he will now shoot if you get too close to him. if you back up though, he stops, which is fine.

he walks to the object, and when he touches it, he starts sliding, and pushes the box over, he just keeps sliding in that direction.
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 05:22
Sounds like you stopped the animation but didn't stop him moving.

"shootplr" will execute the ShootAI script and cease executing the current script.


The one and only,


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 05:59
yes, and i made a shoot script for that but i want to stop the enemy when and only when he gets in cover.

when you get too close to him, he fires, how do i stop him moving when he gets to the object
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:11
I under stand your problem and will provide provide this answer to it. After all, this was the exact feature that I accomplished for the new age of AI.

now here is a list:

1 flat entity

The picture attached is sort of a visual representation.

1. you take the flat entity and place it where you want the character to go.

2. you change the name of that entity to the name you have the character go to.

3. make the flat entity immobile so it won't move when the character comes into contact with it.

4. if every thing is done correctly, then the charcter will run directly towards the flat entity and stop when it is on top of it.

NOTE: In the picture I used the teleport pads. to make it invisible just change the texture to pure black.


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:21
no, he walks onto the flat surface, but then just keeps sliding. I want him to stop when there
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:23
That not right...

you have him move target the flat entity and move straight to it?


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:30
he sets target, then moves to target. the target is the flat entity
in front is a box. he just crouch slides to the flat entity and then pushes his way around the box and keeps sliding the same direction
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:33
try changing the names of the boxes and have the target name only set on the flat entity.

Not sure how much help this will be but here is a tiny snippet of code from my ally shoot script that is used for moving to cover.




Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 06:57
okay, i added what you had, but he stops outside the box. is the greenlight around the object in the editor its hit region? because hes moving, but then stopping when not on the pad


also, does fpsc version matter? because i'm using a mixture of V1 and V109
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 07:02
as long as it is v 1.4 or higher you will be fine.


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 16:32
mixture of v100 and v109

the boxes are all static and the only dynamic entity is the flat spot

he just walks right past the box and flat ground

he then crouch/slides
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 19:29
i gave you all the help i can without seeing the scripts


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 01:03
I can show you the scripts

:state=0,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr
:state=0,plrdistfurther=150:settargetname=box1,state=1
:state=1,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr
:state=1,plrdistfurther=150:movetotarget=1,animate=5,state=2
:state=2,plrdistwithin=150:shootplr
:state=2,plrdistfurther=150,reachtarget:animate=31,freeze

the shoot script is simple, it just was written in like 2 seconds by me and all he does is stands and shoots you doing high damage. if you move farther away, he gets back in cover. it has nothing to do with the main
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 3rd Jun 2009 17:55
no idea?
Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 01:13
please help
Gamer X
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 01:17
sorry, i have been busy with the final product of the AI upgrade scripts and can't mess with it right now.


Bugsy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 17:47
ok, but any ideas for me to mess with it?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 02:32:27
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 02:32:27