Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Complete Beginner

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 02:20
Hi there.
I have been building a world now for a while in db. From the start i have had a problem with objects.

Everything i build in studio max 3 ( textured in max and converted to .x using the plugin) lacks solidity when added to my world.

The two most evident symptoms are.
1)Black triangles scroll along the edges of my buildings.
2)Things inside the buildings are partially visible through the walls.

I am a corporate web apps developer by trade and know nothing about game development.

The only thing i can think of is that my video card is rubbish. I'm ashamed to say its a voodoo3 ( Getting a new one very soon).

Can anyone tell me whats going on with my objects? Is it the card (sorry) or is it some basic oversight on my part?
Please help. I'm off work this week and all i want is for my objects to be solid.

Elnebuloso.....
indi
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 14:05
Hi Elnebuloso, welcome

Could u post a screenshot of the clipping in game.?

your voodoo may well be the case but it may be a camera clipping issue or a camera range issue.

indi is part of Team Lunarpixel
multimedia logisitics and interactive media
Nemo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 19:39
Hi there.
Here's that screen shot.

Nemo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 20:11
Heh.NOT. Got a bit mouse happy there.
I try again.

[img]d:\ScreenShot.gif[/img]

Nemo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 20:13
Ok i give up. How u get a screen shot up.

xtom
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2002 20:42