Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Runtime error

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello all,

I'm an experienced programmer, but new to DBPro.

I'm getting this runtime error:

Runtime Error 1504 - Display cannot be created due to unknown DirectX error at line 0

This is my code

I'm stumped, any help?

BTW- I am using an older video card... I believe it has 4 MB VRAM and supports 555-RGB.
JaRoS21
Years of Service
User Offline
Well, I have tried working with bitmaps on other systems. So far I have had luck with those that have more modern hardware. But I am a little dissappointed that I havent had a single reply to this post. Back to the top it goes...

TheCyborg
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2002 00:40
It's probably because your video card does not fully support directx. Try some new drivers and/or new directx if they arent up to date.

TheCyborg Development.
http://TheCyborg.Amok.dk
The Ultimate Source To DarkBASIC Programming.
JaRoS21
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanx for the reply Cyborg

I thought of that, but my drivers are of the latest build availible, and i have DX8.1 installed with the DX8.1 SDK as well.

JaRoS

kipster
Years of Service
User Offline
look and see if therre is a setting for the video catch size.

TheCyborg
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Nov 2002 10:32
What i meant was if your card is very old, it maybe only support up to directx 6.1 or whatever. The drivers you have is probably a few years old and they only support directx 7. If you really want it to work, and there are no newer drivers, then there's nothing to do exept buying a new card.
Hey, I didn't say it should be the newest of the newest, you could probably find a cheap one out there.