Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Best method for animated sprites?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2009 04:46
Okay i have a TON of sprites that i can use either in GIF format or cut them up into little pieces, should i make sprite sheets or is there some simpler way to do this? (im new to 2d)
thanks,
cmk

Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 23rd Jul 2009 05:35
It just depends on how you want to work with them. If you want to grab them yourself and not use the CREATE ANIMATED SPRITE command then put them on one sheet, load it up with LOAD BITMAP and grab each image using a FOR/NEXT loop. If you want to use the CREATE ANIMATED SPRITE command you'll have to separate each animation with a drawing program and put it in it's own file.

The one thing you don't want to use is .gif. Use .png instead... pngs allow you to use multiple alpha channels so you can easily have sprites that have semi transparent areas. Like buildings with windows, or ghost characters that you can see through.

wickedly kick it
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2009 06:02
Okay thanks, any good programs that create sprite sheets from animates sprites?

Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2009 07:25
Any drawing program will do. I use Paint Shop Pro 7 for all my graphic work.